Completed insert set – 1996 Topps Power Boosters

22 07 2016

I’m traveling to Cooperstown today, so I can’t do a Hall of Fame related post.  So I’ll do this post – which I wanted to get in last week but ran out of time.  I finished this set up by getting a card from my “elusive eight” list from Beckett’s Marketplace.  I thought it would be a really long time before I finished this set, but I’m stoked to get it out of the way!

Info about the set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Set description:  25 of the first 26 cards of the ’96 Topps set consist of 2 subsets – the first 11 cards being Star Power for current All-Stars and the next 14 being Draft Picks.  Topps created a foil version of the same cards and inserted them 1 per box, just as they had done for the first 10 cards of the ’95 Topps Traded set.  They are printed on much thicker stock with diffraction (“power boost”) background.  The card backs have a head shot and mid-season statistics for the player.

Set composition:  25 cards, 1:36 odds (1996 Topps series 1)

Hall of Famers:  6.  Tony Gwynn, Mike Piazza, Greg Maddux, Barry Larkin, Tom Glavine, Craig Biggio.

How I put the set together:

  • 1 card from my ’96 s1 retail box
  • 1 card I already had from back in the day
  • 13 cards from COMC
  • 7 cards from Sportlots
  • 1 card from eBay
  • 1 card from a card show
  • 1 card from Beckett’s Marketplace

Card that completed my set:  #21 – Jim Scharrer

1996 Topps Power Boosters Jim Scharrer

I just got this card to knock it off my Elusive Eight in mid-July.

Thoughts on the set:  I like the thicker card stock, and the background foil technology is great.  Topps could do something like this today and I would like it.  It would have been nice if they did a foil version of the Mantle tribute (card #7).

Best card (my opinion):  #25 – Sean Casey

1996 Topps Power Boosters Sean Casey

Todd Helton has a more notable rookie card that’s paralleled in this set, but Sean Casey’s card is the coolest to me.

My Favorite Reds card:  #6 – Barry Larkin

1996 Topps Power Boosters Barry Larkin

Coming off his MVP year!

Here’s the scan of the full set.

1996 Topps Power Boosters Complete

1996 Topps Power Boosters Complete 2

1996 Topps Power Boosters Complete 3

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

