Completed insert set – 2012 Allen & Ginter mini Musical Masters

25 12 2023

Merry Christmas!  I had a bit of a post backlog, but I’m through that now and don’t have as much time – but do hope I can get a couple more in before the new year.  Here’s a quick completed insert set from some Black Friday purchases I made.  I didn’t go too crazy compared to the Summer/Fall purchases I made earlier this year.  But I do have a pretty big completion milestone after this one.

I collected Ginter in 2011 and 2012 (only) – so I’m trying to finish up some of the insert sets from those 2 years.  I knocked off the one remaining card from my recent Beckett purchases that I did on Black Friday.  A couple sets from that – and then a few coming from COMC that will be early next year I think!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Info about the set:

Set description:  “16 musically minded cards featuring famous composers from throughout history.”  These are vertically oriented minis with the maestros (which by the way should have been the name of this set) depicted on the front and a write-up on their career exploits on the back.

Set composition: 16 cards, 1:5 odds (2012 Allen & Ginter’s)

I only got one of these in my box – I think it’s that the insert minis are 1:5 in total

Hall of Famers: Not a sports set.

Card that completed my set: #MM-14 Igor Stravinsky

I got this card from Beckett Marketplace as a Black Friday purchase.

How I put the set together:

  • 1 card from the Ginter hobby box I bought
  • 1 card from a Ginter case break I did back in 2012
  • 1 card from a card show
  • 1 card from a trade
  • 5 cards from Beckett Marketplace
  • 6 cards from COMC
  • 1 cards from Sportlots

Thoughts on the set:  This is one of the many sets that makes Ginter unique, and it’s kind of neat to go through.  A good selection by Topps here.

I wish they had thrown in like 4 more modern composers to make this 20 cards to fill out that mini page.  John Williams and Howard Shore would be so easy – cut up a few of their blazers, get them to sign some framed minis and you have a perfect add to the Ginter product!

Best card (my opinion): #MM-2, MM-3 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Ludwig Van Beethoven

I’m not a classical music aficionado – but it would be hard to pick above these two or between these two in my understanding.

Here’s the scan of the full set.

Any other tidbits:  I always like to do some cross-referencing for sets like this with Goodwin Champions from Upper Deck.  Will just check my top 2 cards here.  Beethoven is in the 2014 Goodwin base set, while Mozart is in the Goudey insert set from the 2016 Goodwin product.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment