RIP Tony Gwynn, 1960-2014

16 06 2014

Of all the amazing things about Tony Gwynn, I thought the most interesting was the basketball career he might have had.

2013 Goodwin Champions box 2 Tony Gwynn auto

I also found it interesting how Topps would re-use photos of him from 20 years ago.

Tony Gwynn 1988 Topps 2012 Gypsy

85T ASG send-ins Gwynn2012 A&G Gwynn

I was sad to learn of Gwynn’s passing today.  He was too young.  I can’t add much to anything that has been said and will be said about him, other than to say – with some guys, you can just tell.  Gwynn was one of the good guys.  Some guys you think and hope that they are that way – because they seem like it on interviews and in public.  You hope, but you don’t know for sure.  But for Tony Gwynn, I had no doubt.

Gwynn is the 9th HOF-er to pass away since I started this blog.  I hope he’s the last one for quite a while.  I also hope he’s in a better place now – maybe smacking the ball through the 5.5 hole.

  • Tony Gwynn
  • Stan Musial
  • Earl Weaver
  • Gary Carter
  • Harmon Killebrew
  • Duke Snider
  • Bob Feller
  • Ron Santo
  • Sparky Anderson

Actions

Information

Leave a comment