Pearl Jam 1991 Topps Style – Wrigley Field

25 04 2017

1 month and 1 day since my last post.  This may be the new norm, though I hope to have a few posts this week.  4 for the 4th month?  Possible.

I meant to post this about 2 months ago, but when I bought the set on eBay it was one card short.  I honestly didn’t feel like calling out the seller for one card (though this is unlikely – I’m not entirely convinced I didn’t somehow throw away the package with a card still in it).  So I had to find the one card I still needed before I could call this “finito”.

I posted a while ago about a pack of cards that were handed out for Pearl Jam’s concert in Fenway Park.  I bought the whole set for Wrigley Field.  Unlike playing in Fenway, this one hits home for PJ – lead singer Eddie Vedder is a huge Cubs fan and became their associated celebrity fan along with Bill Murray over the past decade-plus.  I still remember when I lived in Wrigleyville in 2013, Pearl Jam had their first concert back there.  I didn’t get tickets (a number of friends did), but I listened to them from my porch.

Each band member has 10 cards total.  9 cards of them playing on a set, and one card in a Cubbie uniform.

There’s also a card for Rob Skinner (who I think is/was a manager for band).  Showing off the palm ball.

On the back of his card, it has the full picture of the puzzle you can put together using the backs of the band member’s cards.

Yeah, like I said, there’s a huge puzzle if you put the backs of the cards together.  It took me two nights to accomplish this.

Now I had issues in part because of my own stupidity, but also because it’s tough to put together a puzzle when all of the cards are the same shape and a few of them are exactly the same on the back (all black).  But I also left the 6 cards above on the scanner, so that made it more confusing.  They constitute the cards on the right side of the puzzle.

So on night 1, I got annoyed, put the 54 cards away, and started over the next night.  Not the best way to get back in to baseball card posting!

The second night, I did figure it out.  Here it is in all its glory.

There are also 6 stickers for each band member – so this “set” ends up taking up a 67 cards in my binders for this type of thing.

I think these stickers are the same across both the Wrigley and Fenway sets.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

