Saturdays Suds: Baseball & Beer #73 Lagunitas IPA “W”

3 12 2016

I’m fresh of watching the Big Ten championship game – what a finish!  But it can’t top the finish of the World Series.  As a Chicago resident, I got to enjoy that win, even though the Cubs aren’t my team.

Brewery:  Lagunitas, Chicago IL

lagunitas-wBeer:  https://lagunitas.com/beers/ipaLagunitas IPA

Description:  “A well-rounded, highly drinkable IPA.  A bit of Caramel Malt barley provides the richness that mellows out the twang of the hops.”

It’s a solid IPA.  Not my favorite because I’ve got to where I prefer less malt.  But it’s enjoyable – hoppy, but not as hoppy as some – with a nice malt backbone.

Medium:  You can find this beer all over the place in markets where Lagunitas distributes.

But not the W flag version :).  It only comes in a 12 oz bottle.

How it’s related to baseball:  When the Cubs won the World Series, Lagunitas produced a bunch of bottles with the famous “W” flag on the label.  The “W” is the flag that all the Cubs fans out here fly in honor of a Cubbie win.  If you went to the brewery the week after game 7 – as I did – the Lagunitas IPA bottles you’d have were the ones you got.

It’s funny, I just had one, snapped the picture above and went home (after about 4 other beers).  The bartender asked me if I wanted to keep the beer, and I wish I had.  What I didn’t realize was that the bottle was going to become a collector’s item.  I figured a boat load would hit distribution shortly thereafter.  That wasn’t the case.  Lagunitas sent some out in distribution, but as surprise wins if you bought a 6 pack.  From what I’ve heard, the Cubs put the kibosh on this since there isn’t any kind of license agreement.

Wish I’d have kept the bottle, they are going for about 20 bucks on eBay, and since my son has become a die-hard Cubs fan i’m sure he’d appreciate it in 17 years when he’s of age!

Actions

Information

One response

7 01 2017
Saturdays Suds: Baseball & Beer #75 – Goose Island #FlyTheW | Lifetime Topps project

[…] my next “Saturday Suds”, I went with another Cubs celebration beer.  And another Goose Island […]

Leave a Reply

