Completed insert set – 1998 Topps Focal Point

23 10 2016

As I mentioned a couple of posts ago, grabbing one of my Elusive Eight cards finished off a 1998 insert set for me.

Info about the set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Set description:  These cards show current stars with a colorful raised foil background that reminds me of something Upper Deck would put in its SP product.  The right side contains close-up cutouts of portions of that picture.  The back has a write-up of the player.

Set composition:  15 cards, 1:36 odds (1998 Topps series 2)

Hall of Famers:  5.  Cal Ripken, Ken Griffey Jr., Frank Thomas, Mike Piazza, Greg Maddux.

Vlad Guerrero could join them next year.

How I put the set together:

  • 1 card from a trade
  • 11 cards from COMC
  • 1 card from Beckett’s marketplace
  • 2 cards from Sportlots

I didn’t get any from the 1998 s2 box I opened – I don’t remember being too frustrated at the time but from the odds I should have pulled one.  I pulled 2 Mystery Finest from that box – which are also supposed to be 1 per box – so can’t complain.

Thoughts on the set:  This and the Flashback set are up there as my favorite inserts from 1998 Topps.  In general, I liked the stuff they were doing from the late 90’s much better than today.  The background effects are cool – kind of like the rookie subset in 1995 Upper Deck SP rookie cards and/or Pinnacle’s Dufex effect.  15 cards is a good amount, as well.  Not too many, but not too easy either.

Card that completed my set:  #FP11 – Chuck Knoblauch

1998-topps-focal-point-complete-3

Any other tidbits:  I find the break down of the photos is interesting in a set like this:

  • 7 batters in mid-swing
  • 3 batters starting down the first base line
  • 2 pitchers mid-stride
  • 1 fielder throwing
  • 1 fielder in ready position
  • 1 catcher cocking back to throw out a base stealer
Actions

Information

2 responses

23 10 2016
Dennis

Color me jealous! That’s a beautiful set and one I really should try to complete too. The Ripken is one of my all time favorite cards of his. Nicely done!

23 10 2016
chuckneo

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

