Saturdays Suds: Baseball & Beer #62 51st Ward Baseball Head

16 07 2016

Before I get to the post – if you get the chance to see the Doc & Darryl documentary (30 for 30) on ESPN – it’s worth it.  I watched it last night and, I’m not a Mets fan or anything, so I’m unbiased.  But theirs is a great story and this particular telling of the story was exceptional.  The most poignant moment to me was hearing Dwight Gooden describe missing the ’86 World Series parade because he was too high.  There were just a lot of telling moments like that.  I always found those guys incredibly likable, and their story is interesting.

It’s been a little bit since I’ve done a “Saturday Suds”, but I had one last night that fits the bill.

51st Ward logo

Brewery:  51st Ward Beer Company in Westmont, IL

Beer:  Baseball Head (Next Year is Now)

Description:  This ale is made by a small brewery that’s just a couple of miles south of me.  It’s a wheat ale that I think is pretty similar to 3 Floyd’s Gumball Head.  It has a good wheat taste with light but not overwhelming hops.

Baseball Head NYIN

Medium:  I think you can only find this beer on draught.  I got it on draft at a restaurant in Westmont called Tap House Grill.  My wife went out with her friend last night, so I logged my kids 10 minutes down the road and tried it.  I like this beer – but not as much Gumball Head.

How it’s related to baseball:  Of course, it’s called “baseball” head.  But this version of this beer is brewed with a little bit of hope.  The first time they brewed it, it was just called “Baseball Head”.  Now, it’s called “Baseball Head – Next Year is Now”, which is something Cubs fans everywhere hope is true.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 07 2016
Jeff

I wonder if the Tap House by me has this. But they’d better change the name back or I will order something else.

17 07 2016
chuckneo

Haha! I think it was only at this location – 51st Ward is right next to them which must have something to do with it.

Leave a Reply

