Completed insert set – 2000 Topps Power Players

7 07 2016

Another completed insert set!  Boo-yah!  This one is from 2000 Topps.

I’m starting to get to the point where I don’t recognize what year a given insert set is from.  Partially because of “supersaturation” and partially because I was more worried about college and all that is entailed with that when these cards came out!

Info about the set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Set description:  Power Players was the common insert set in series 1; the set focused on 20 hitters’ power stats.  This was definitely appropriate for the time period as these cards came out in the height of the steroid era.  The cards are super shiny on the front – holographic foil and all that.  This is one of those sets that looks pretty decent in person – but has some qualities that show up better in a highlighted scan.

Set composition:  20 cards, 1:8 odds (2000 Topps series 1)

Hall of Famers:  3.  Ken Griffey Jr., Frank Thomas, Mike Piazza.

How I put the set together:

  • 4 cards from my series 1 hobby box
  • 4 cards from a card show
  • 1 card from a trade
  • 5 cards from COMC
  • 5 cards from Sportlots
  • 1 card from eBay

Card that completed my set: #P20 – Derek Jeter

2000 Power Players front

I got really close on this set and the last card was Jeter.  So I went ahead and shelled out about $1.50 to get the Jeter to finalize the set.

Thoughts on the set:  I do like this set, but like so many insert sets from late 90’s and early 2000 Topps, it suffers from an abundances of holographic background,  Or holographic background made to look like a regular card in a normal picture or a scan (like below).

Best card (my opinion): #P2 – Ken Griffey Jr.

2000 Topps Power Players Griffey

Griffey on the follow-through!  Great card.

My Favorite Reds card:  There are none.

2000 Topps Power Players complete

2000 Topps Power Players complete 2

2000 Topps Power Players complete 3

Any other tidbits:  I’m not sure if it’s just a coincidence or if they are trying to pay homage to an old set, but Topps did a set called Power Players in 2014 that seemed to call back to this set.  Considering it’s foil, hologram type stuff – which is only a fave of mine if it’s done well – I like both the 2000 set and the 2014 set.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 07 2016
Juanita clark

I have a lot of cards. Are you looking for specific cards.

13 07 2016
chuckneo

The ones on my want list…

Leave a Reply

