Completed insert set – 2000 Topps Perennial All-Stars

6 07 2016

Here’s another completed insert set – this is from 2000 Topps.  Like most of these posts, I completed this set in December last year, when I got my Black Friday purchase from COMC.

Info about the set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Set description:  This is one of Topps many submissions from that time period that had some type of super-shiny silver foil in the background.  This particular one had a star design.  The set name is in red and blue at the top, with the player’s name at the bottom.  The back is blue with bronze effects and statistics of the player’s career All-Star record.  Obviously it features guys who tend to frequently make the Summer Classic.

Set composition:  10 cards, 1:18 odds (2000 Topps series 1)

Hall of Famers:  3.  Ken Griffey Jr., Cal Ripken, Mike Piazza

How I put the set together:

  • 2 cards from my 2000 series 1 hobby box
  • 2 cards from trades
  • 2 cards from COMC
  • 2 cards from Sportlots
  • 1 card from an eBay lot
  • 1 card from the NSCC

Thoughts on the set:  As I alluded to above, Topps did too much silver shiny back in this time frame.  Makes it hard for this set to stand out.  When I see it, I don’t think “That’s that 2000 Topps set, Perennial All-Stars”.  I have no clue what year it came out and wouldn’t know the set name if it wasn’t in block letters on the front.  On the positive – the back having career All-Star stats is different and kind of cool.  Also, with a set called Perennial All-Stars, it is really good player selection (though there are no pitchers).

Card that completed my set: #PA6 – Nomar Garciaparra

2000 Topps Perennial All-Stars Nomar

As I mentioned, I got it from COMC last Black Friday 2015.  I somehow accidentally bought 2 of them!

Best card (my opinion): #PA1 – Ken Griffey Jr.

2000 Topps Perennial All-Stars Griffey

Sometimes I intentionally try to avoid being a homer and probably end up not picking my favorite player just to not pick my favorite player.  Not here.

My Favorite Reds card:  There are none.

Here’s the scan of the set:

2000 Topps Perennial All-Stars complete

2000 Topps Perennial All-Stars complete 2

Other tidbits:  The card backs lists total All-Star games trough the 1999 season on the back.  At the time of release, this group had a total of 68 appearances combined – 17 for Cal Ripken!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

