Completed insert set – 2013 Topps 1972 Minis

4 07 2016

Sometimes, as a card collector, you think you’ve finished something.  And you haven’t.  Chalk this insert set up in that category for me.

In October last year, I was getting ready to post about the 1972 Mini set from 2013 Topps.  I thought I had finished it in December of the year before that (December 2014).  That was not the case.  I went through and realized I was missing card #69, Robin Yount.  

I’m choosing to be optimistic about this.  One of the good things about doing a card blog is that I catch scenarios like this.  When I do these completed insert posts, I take a look back at the insert set.  That involves a look through the set, which invariably leads to being sure that you do, in fact, have every single card of the set.

I finally got that Yount card in last year’s Black Friday sale at COMC.

Info about the set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Set description:  “Mini cards featuring the 1972 Topps design.”  There are 50 cards in each series, though this set wasn’t continued in Update, so it’s a 100 card set in total.  The cards are in the groovy 1972 design, but in the miniature size that first came out in 1975 Topps.

Set composition:  100 cards, 1:4 odds (2013 Topps)

Hall of Famers:  12. Ken Griffey Jr., Brooks Robinson, Yogi Berra, Robin Yount, Reggie Jackson, Willie Stargell, Johnny Bench, George Brett, Joe Morgan, Ernie Banks, Ozzie Smith, Eddie Mathews

All the retired players are in series 2.

How I put the set together:

  • 18 cards from my series 1 and 2 boxes
  • 4 cards from retail packs
  • 39 cards from buying a full series 1 on eBay
  • 13 cards from trades
  • 17 cards from Beckett’s Marketplace
  • 2 cards from COMC

Card that completed my set:  #TM-69 – Robin Yount

2013 Topps 72 minis Yount

As mentioned, this was unexpectedly the last card I needed.

Thoughts on the set:  The idea of miniature versions of an older set never had me fully on board, though I did like it the first time Topps did it in 2012 as it was the closest thing I got to my request of the wood borders on the regular set.  This was the 2nd year they did it, they did it with 1971 in 2013 Update, and then in 2014 they did it with 1989 Topps.  Classic example of overdoing something.  If you take them individually though, these are nice cards.

Best card (my opinion):  #TM-4 – Mike Trout

2013 Topps 72 minis Trout

This, to me, was the best photo in the set.  By a lot.

My Favorite Reds card:  #TM-81 – Eric Davis

2013 Topps 72 minis Eric Davis

Can’t beat ED44.

Any other tidbits:  Ernie Banks has the one card that’s in the category of “Cards that Never Were”.  Ernie Banks retired after the 1971 season, and didn’t have a final Topps card with his career record.

2013 Topps Banks mini

There were 8 guys who had cards in this set and a card in 1972 Topps.  Here are the six that had the right team:

2013 Topps 72 minis correct era

The 2 that didn’t were Reggie Jackson and Nolan Ryan.

2013 Topps 72 minis wrong team

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 07 2016
Brett Alan

I’ve got a few of these–bought Jose Altuve in a dime box, then pulled Manny Machado and Miguel Cabrera from packs. That Cabrera is a beautiful card IMO.

5 07 2016
chonk344

This is one of the insert sets I’ve been meaning to complete, but I don’t think I’ve actually finished it yet.

5 07 2016
chuckneo

It takes a while for sure…

Leave a Reply

