Completed insert set – 2000 Topps 21st Century Topps

29 06 2016

Anybody out there from Vermont or been there?  Last weekend I went on a trip with some buddies from home.  It can only be described as a brewery trip.  We found cans of Heady Topper made by Alchemist Brewing, went to Hill Farmstead, Lost Nation, Fiddlehead and Tree House Brewery.  If you’re from the area – Julius from Tree House was my favorite.  This has me behind on card posting, and I’m soon off for July 4th, so we’ll see if I can keep up the recent once per day posting 🙂

Back to cards.  Here’s another completed insert set.  This one is from 2000 Topps.

Info about the set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Set description:  This set features young players who Topps thought were going to be the best players of the early part of the decade.  The cards have a holographic background with a kind of 3-D effect.  In the hologram, there’s a baseball at the top with a wording for “21st century Topps”.  Behind the player is a bit of a matrix effect.  The back of the card is blue with a similar, but muted, matrix effect.  There’s a head shot in the upper left, some biographical info in the upper right, and a write-up about the player’s potential at the bottom.

Set composition:  10 cards, 1:18 odds (2000 Topps series 1)

Hall of Famers:  None.  Yet.

How I put the set together:

  • 2 cards from my series 1 hobby box
  • 2 cards from trades
  • 6 cards from Sportlots

Thoughts on the set:  I’ve got to admit, I get confused by some of these super-shiny insert sets from the late 1990’s and 2000.  I’d like this set a lot better if it didn’t seem like one of 20 similar sets.  The holographic background features a really neat design, but like most of those sets – it actually looks much better from the scanner than it does in your hand.

I do like the themes moving across 2000 Topps.  Focusing on the turn of the century, this set is a group of guys who were expected to be great in the near future.  There’s a set for the best active former All-Rookie Team guys.  There’s an All-Topps Team that features the best active player at each position.

Card that completed my set:  #C3 – Derek Jeter

2000 21st Century Topps Derek Jeter

I got this card from Sportlots last September.

Best card (my opinion):  #C4 – Sean Casey

My Favorite Reds card:  #C4 – Sean Casey

2000 21st Century Topps Sean Casey

I could be accused of being a homer, and I’m doubling up with the Reds category, too, but I really think this is the best photo.  It’s a cool shot of “the Mayor” extending after a swing.

Scan of the set

2000 21st Century Topps

2000 21st Century Topps complete 2

Any other tidbits:  Topps had a similar theme in 1999, a set called New Breed.  8 players were in both sets:

  • Ben Grieve
  • Derek Jeter
  • Nomar Garciaparra
  • Alex Rodriguez
  • Scott Rolen
  • Andruw Jones
  • Vlad Guerrero
  • Todd Helton

Also interesting – except for Scott Rolen, this set consists only of outfielders, shortstops and first baseman.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

