1997 Topps parallels – Chipper Jones

7 05 2016

1997 Topps

Card I selected:  #276 – Chipper Jones

The 1997 set marks an end to the run of me picking Hall of Famer players, though that end is temporary as Chipper will go in a couple of years from now.  In 1997 the number of cards I could pick from is still at 5 cards, counting 2 jumbos.  Topps didn’t do any team specific sets in 1997, but they make a jumbo version of the regular card of 3 players and a jumbo version of the Chrome card for 6 guys.  This was sold in special packaging at Wal-Mart.  I already did a Cal Ripken card, and I’m going to do Ken Griffey Jr. in 1999, so Chipper is my only option here if I don’t want to double up on the same player (I don’t).

I didn’t have all of these cards when I started doing these posts.  I had actually found the Chrome jumbo card of Chipper on ebay a while ago; these seem a little bit more common than the regular Topps jumbos.  But I did some more digging with a creative eBay search and found the regular jumbo still in the Wal-Mart box.  So for 1997 I have every parallel for this little game of mine.

1997 Topps Wal-Mart box Chipper

# of cards (including the Topps card):  5

The parallel sets in 1997 include:

  • Oversize
  • Chrome
  • Chrome Refractors
  • Chrome Oversize

Scans:

1997 Topps #276

1997 Topps Chipper Jones

1997 Topps Chipper back

Topps got a bit confused with the numbering at the end of series 1 and the beginning of series 2.  The last card of series 1 is checklist #276.  The first card of series 2… is also card #276, this Chipper Jones card.  There is no card #277.

1997 Topps Oversize #1

1997 Topps Chipper Jones

1997 Topps Jumbo Chipper back

A special Wal-Mart box included a jumbo version of the reprint of the 1952 Willie Mays Topps card, along with 10 series 1 packs.  For series 2, there was a box of 15 retail packs with jumbo versions of the 3 different players mentioned above.  The cards measure 3-¾” by 5-¼”.  The only difference other than size is that the cards are numbered 1 through 3.

Since I bought the box after I was done with the 1997 set, I’ve now got 15 packs I’m not sure what to do with :)!

1997 Topps Chrome #97

1997 Topps Chrome Jumbo Chipper Jones

1997 Topps Chrome Chipper back

Topps Chrome was back for the second time.  165 of the cards from the base set were reproduced using chromium technology.  These chrome cards are smoother than the debut – there aren’t little circles/bubbles in the background.  The cards are obviously numbered differently, and there’s also a slight difference on the back as Topps has extra lines with their patent info for Chrome technology.

1997 Topps Chrome Refractor #97

1997 Topps Chrome Refractor Chipper Jones

1997 Topps Chrome Refractor Chipper back

Inserted every 12 packs of Topps Chrome were refractor cards. These cards have a plastic diffraction effect that gives the card a colorful, reflective shine.  The back also says refractor in the upper right-hand corner just above the number.

1997 Topps Chrome Oversize #1

1997 Topps Chrome Jumbo Chipper Jones

1997 Topps Chrome Chipper back

There was a similar Wal-Mart box made for Topps Chrome that included a jumbo version of 6 different players (including Jones, Griffey and Ripken).  This package had 5 Chrome packs included.The cards measure 3-¾” by 5-¼” and except for that are exactly the same as the Topps Chrome cards.

The “Rainbow”:

1997 Topps Chipper rainbow

This is my favorite rainbow to date.  Pretty neat how the bottom 2 cards line up perfectly with the top 3.

Any sets I didn’t get:  That’s all that you could possibly get.  Which is why I picked Chipper.

Other cards I would have liked to do:  To get all of those I’d be limited to the 3 guys I mentioned.  JT Snow had my favorite card of the set, where he’s trying to lean over the Royals dugout to make a catch.  Royce Clayton, Butch Huskey and Chuck Knoblauch also have very cool cards.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

