Updating the Elusive Eight for a 4th time – Rosemont Card Show

28 03 2016

1996 Topps Power Boosters McKnight

It’s funny how things work out.  I went to a big card show at the Convention Center in Rosemont last week.  My cousin was in town visiting.  He is in college, and came to Chicago to visit us and a cousin on the other side of his family who also lives near Chicago.  I dropped him off at their house Sunday morning – they were 5 minutes from Rosemont.  The discussion with my wife earlier in the week went something like this:

Wife: “Are you going to church Sunday?”

Me: “I have to drop Sam off, remember?”

So I did, and, what do you know, the convention center got in the way of my drive home.  After about 10 minutes, I kind of regretted the decision.  Not because I was missing church – I couldn’t have made it home by the time I’d dropped my nephew off anyways.  More that I had spent money on parking and admission, but probably wasn’t going to have enough time to filter through everything that was there.  I did find an honest-to-good dime box, and picked up 50 inserts.  They were mostly from 2015 Topps, with a few 2016 cards sprinkled in.  So that was 5 bucks, and I got a Mike Trout ML Debut insert for $2.  A total of 51 cards for 7 bucks (14¢ per card).  Not bad, but when you factor in the $15 parking and $10 admission – not nearly as good.  63¢ per card.  I guess that’s not awful, but I bet I could have gotten a similar deal on COMC or Sportlots and saved the time.

I almost left before hitting a few last tables in the back.  Glad I didn’t.  Because I found another cheap box – this one was a quarter box.  3 quarter boxes actually.  And as I was flipping through those boxes, I was actually a little sad because there were so many cards in the boxes that I now had but had experienced a lot of trouble tracking down over the years.  Cards like 1995 League Leaders.  1996 Topps ProFiles.  A few other cards from 1996-2002 Topps.  But I had all the ones I was seeing.  Until I got to the 3rd box, I only had about 4 cards.  And I had a buzzing phone from my wife wondering why I wasn’t home when they got back (she’s fine with my card escapades – what she’s not fine with is me not communicating them!).

But the 3rd box was something of a jackpot.  I found quite a few cards I needed, and there was 1 card from the 1996 Topps Power Boosters set.  It was this card:

1996 Topps Power Boosters #18 – Tony McKnight

1996 Topps Power Boosters McKnight

I need just 1 more card from this set, and I have an eBay search for it.  The rookie portion of these cards are just really hard to track down.  They aren’t valuable or anything, but I just can’t seem to find them.  Probably because they’re all buried in dime boxes like this.  These cards have sat on my wantlist since I opened my 1996 boxes in 2012.  So almost 4 years.  That’s a long time!  And the luck that this specific one was the one here?  Well, it made the trip worth it!

*********

Here’s the updated Elusive Eight, just in case anyone has these cards available!  Remember – the pictures are the photos I have of other cards in the set.  Since I don’t have them, I don’t have actual photos yet!

2012 Topps Archives Combos – #58-CK – Cabrera/Kaline

2012 Topps Archives Combos – #58-YE – Yaz/Ellsbury

2012 Archives Combos Bench Votto

I’m 2 cards away from the Combos set that was a retail-only insert in 2012 Topps Archives.  These 2 cards have been added after I got the McKnight and the Juan Lebron card below over the past 2 weeks.

1996 Topps Power Boosters #21 – Jim Scharrer

1996 Topps Power Boosters Juan Lebron

2012 Topps Archives In Action #82IA-JE – Jacoby Ellsbury

Trade Night Owl June 2012 Archives

1998 Topps Focal Points #11 – Chuck Knoblauch

1998 Topps Focal Point Frank Thomas

2013 Gypsy Queen #218 – Adam Wainwright

2013 Gypsy Queen Gwynn

1996 Topps Masters of the Game #15 – Kirby Puckett

96 Masters of Game

1995 Topps Pre-Production Spectralite #PP5 – Travis Fryman

1995 Topps Pre-Production Spectralite Sandy Alomar

Here are some other cards that would be knocking on the door to make the list. 3 of them have been on the list at some point in the past, but were bumped to make room for the Power Boosters cards.

2001 Topps MVP redemption set – a very expensive set, I have about 10 of the 25 cards

2003 Topps Nolan Ryan Record Breaker – 5 very difficult cards to go

2003 Topps Traded – 5 cards to go

2004 Topps – 5 cards to go

2012 Topps – the Bryce Harper 661 card

2012 Allen & Ginter Giants of the Deep #14 – Bottlenose Whale

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

