Completed insert set – 1997 Topps Willie Mays Reprints

21 03 2016

I posted for the completed version of this set using Finest technology a few days ago.  I finished that one first.  But a couple of months later I made another COMC purchase where I finished the regular version of the Mays reprints.  I guess there’s a little duplication here, but at least you can see scans of the 2 versions 🙂

Info about the set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Set description:  After honoring Mickey Mantle in 1996, Topps followed that up with a set of reprint cards with the other all-time great from the 1952 Topps set.  Topps issued reprints of the full run of Mays base cards from his career – including Bowman cards.  That’s 27 cards from 1951 through 1973.  Series 1 had the regular reprints, while series 2 had the Finest version.  The fronts have a stamp identifying it as the Mays reprint set.  The backs have very small numbering noting which number in the set the specific card is.

Set composition:  27 cards, 1:8 (1997 Topps series 1)

Hall of Famers:  1 – just Mays.

How I put the set together:

  • 4 cards from 1997 retail box
  • 4 cards from trades
  • 1 card from the 2013 NSCC
  • 8 cards from Sportlots
  • 7 cards from COMC
  • 3 cards from Beckett Marketplace

Card that completed my set:  #9 – 1957 Topps

1997 Topps Mays Reprints 1957

I picked up this from COMC in July last year.

Thoughts on the set:  Of course it’s tagging on from the Mickey Mantle set in 1996, but at this point I don’t think the idea had jumped the shark.  In fact, I liked the idea of doing full runs of reprints of former players.  I wish Topps would have kept up with it.  They started redoing the idea in 2015 with jumbo reprints called “Cardboard Icons” that you can only get directly on the Topps website.  But back in 1997, this was pretty cool, and I dig the finest sets even more than the regular reprints.

Best card (my opinion):  #1 – 1951 Bowman

1997 Topps Mays Reprints 1951 Bowman

Can’t go with a different pick than I did 2 days ago, can I?

My Favorite Reds card:  There obviously are none.

1997 Topps Mays Reprints
1997 Topps Mays Reprints 2

1997 Topps Mays Reprints 3

Actions

Information

One response

2 06 2016
Completed master set – one last look at 1997 Topps | Lifetime Topps project

[…] Strokes, Interleague Finest, Season’s Best, All-Stars, Team Timber, Hobby Masters, Willie Mays Reprints, Willie Mays Finest, Mickey Mantle Reprints, Mickey Mantle Finest, Awesome […]

Leave a Reply

