Completed insert set – 2011 Topps Heritage Jackie Robinson Special

10 03 2016

It’s finally over!  I finished the 2nd to last insert set for 2011 Topps Heritage in early 2014, and have been waiting on finalizing this one for the past 2 years.  This is my 5th and final insert set completed from 2011 Topps Heritage.  This one was, as expected, the toughest to finish.  I’m now done with my 2011 Topps Heritage “Master set”!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Info about the set

Set description:  2011 Topps Heritage has a 10-card Babe Ruth subset that reprints cards #135-144 from 1962 Topps.  This is a variation of that subset, with Jackie Robinson’s story replacing those of the Babe.  It’s a very difficult pull; 1:50 packs. The set is done in exactly the same fashion as the Ruth subset from 1962 Topps.  It has wood-grain bordering like all 1962 Topps cards.  There’s a red book cover with “Jackie Robinson Highlight” and a yellow banner with the specific highlight.  The back has statistics or a write-up about Jackie’s life from his childhood to his days in Dodger Blue.

There are also relic versions of the cards numbered to 42.

Set composition:  10 cards, 1:50 odds (2011 Topps Heritage)

Hall of Famers:  2 – Jackie Robinson on every card, and Branch Rickey is shown on card #138, which is a picture of Robinson signing his first contract with the Dodgers.

How I put the set together:

  • 1 card from a trade
  • 4 cards from eBay
  • 1 card from Sportlots
  • 4 cards from Check Out My Cards

Card that completed my set: #143 – Robinson shines in the fall

2011 Topps Heritage Jackie Robinson Special 143

I never saw this card, except for sale for $50 on Beckett Marketplace.  That’s almost 3x what I’d be willing to pay.  I’ve had an eBay search called “Jackie Robinson Heritage 143” up forever, but with no results.  However, not soon after I created the “Elusive Eight” at the end of December, I got a hit on the card, and picked it up for a Buy it Now of $12.

Thoughts on the set:  I love this subset, though I wish the format was different.  The idea is great, however, here’s my one nitpick.  I wish they had made the base cards the Jackie Robinson subset.  It doesn’t make sense to basically reprint the same Ruth subset that’s in 1962 Topps and put it into Heritage.  They could have still inserted relic versions of the Robinson cards.  Bob Feller would have been an interesting player variation, as he was the other HOF inductee along with Robinson in 1962.

Also – it doesn’t really make sense that it’s called “Highlights”.  This has a card from his days at UCLA, one of him as a kid, and another for his military service.  I’d say “Highlights” implies his career highlights.  Not a big deal, though – just me being OCD 🙂

It’s also worth noting – there have been a few other Jackie Robinson tributes in recent years.  So while the idea may seem a bit overused, this was the first that I know of, and the fact that 1962 was his HOF induction really fits.

Finally, I really think the set is missing cards from his time with the Kansas City and with the Montreal AAA-affiliate.  I wish those would have been worked in instead of the 2 of last 3 cards.  Those last 3 don’t seem to fit as they aren’t specific highlights or seasons, they are just look backs at his career.

Best card (my opinion):  #136 – Robinson emerges as a collegiate star

2011 Topps Heritage Jackie Robinson Special 135 UCLA

This card shows him playing basketball at UCLA.  Very cool.

Here’s a scan of the full set:

2011 Topps Heritage Jackie Robinson Special full set

Any other tidbits:  Topps came out with a Jackie Robinson Story set last year as a retail-only insert set.  I don’t have the full set yet, but I did check on which ones are essentially duplicates.  I’ve put the checklist of the set below, and noted which ones are essentially duplicated in the 2015 Topps set.

  • 135 – Robinson displays athletic talents at an early age
  • 136 – Robinson emerges as a collegiate star
    • same theme and picture as card #1 from 2015
  • 137 – Robinson serves 3 years in the army
    • same theme as card #2 from 2015
  • 138 – Robinson breaks the game’s color barrier
    • same theme as card #4 from 2015
  • 139 – Robinson takes ROY honors, then MVP
    • same theme (somewhat) as card #7 from 2015, as it honors the MVP
  • 140 – Robinson wraps up Hall-of-Fame career
  • 141 – Robinson’s legacy lives on
    • Same theme as card #10 from 2015
  • 142 – Robinson racks ’em up
  • 143 – Robinson shines in the fall
  • 144 – The Robinson resumé
Actions

Information

2 responses

10 03 2016
nighttimeowl

Funny, the “Robinson shines in the fall” card is one of the 6 in the set that I own. It even may have been the first one I got.

11 03 2016
chuckneo

Haha, yeah, it took me so long to get that one damn card. And I was really looking.

Leave a Reply

