Completed master set – 2011 Goodwin Champions

29 02 2016

The whole point of doing these set completion posts is basically to pat myself on the back :).  Well I’m happy to do so with this “master set”.  This is me patting the 2011 version of myself on the back.  Or maybe it’s the 2011 me patting the current me on the back.  Regardless, I’m glad to say I finished this up – it took a long time to finish everything I wanted from 2011 & 2012 Goodwin Champions.  I finally did late last year.  That’s over 4 years, though the main hold up was the Goodwin Travelers postcards that came as box toppers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Info about my base set

How I put the set (base / SP / SSP / mini) together:

  • 161 (142/12/4/3) cards from my two hobby boxes
  • 10 (5/3/1/1) cards from a blaster
  • 5 (3/2/0/0) cards from trades
  • 34 (0/12/8/14) cards from Sportlots
  • 14 (0/11/3/0) cards from a card show
  • 7 (0/0/4/3) cards from COMC

Card that completed my set:  #194 – Rube Foster

2011 Goodwin Rube Foster

Best card (my opinion): #164 – Old & Young Tom Morris

2011 Goodwin Old Young Tom Morris

Check out this link to see the rest of the base set post.

My Master” Set Info

285 cards – 231 “base”, 29 “insert”, 25 “other”

How I put the additional sets together:

  • Inserts:  5 – packs/boxes, 12 – card shows, 12 – online purchases
  • World Traveler:  2 – packs/boxes, 3 – trades, 20 – online purchases

Toughest card to track down:  World Travelers #ET21 – Na Pali Coast

2011 Goodwin World Traveler Na Pali Coast

This was the last of 2 World Traveler cards I got.  It would have to be one of those cards or the Rube Foster.

Other product bests

Best Insert card in the master set:  Figures of Sport #FS-17 – Nolan Ryan

2011 Goodwin Figures of Sport Nolan Ryan

I really like the Figures of Sport set; there were 2 designs in that insert set.  I like them both, but I really like this one, which is for the shorter printed versions.  Nolan Ryan in a Cowboy hat beats out Michael Jordan in a suit.

Best Insert card:  Presidential Masterpieces #16 – Abraham Lincoln

Lincoln scan #1 front

There’s a super-rare hand painted set called Masterpieces that Upper Deck does every year (with a different theme).  It’s not part of the master set, so I don’t own this card – though I used to!  I actually pulled the Lincoln back in 2011 from one of my boxes.  One of my top 2 or 3 pulls ever.  And I pulled pretty much the most desirable Prez.  I sold the card for nearly $500 – too much to pass up.

Best Parallel card:  Lightning Variation #1 – King Kelly

goodwin 2011 Kelly variation

Upper Deck created one type of variation in its 2011 with lightning in the background.  This is a tribute to the original set, as a number of cards had a similar type of background, including the original 1888 King Kelly card.  Kelly’s card is my 2nd favorite of the regular set, so to me the variation is the best parallel, beating out any of the minis or the horizontal “reveal” parallels Upper Deck did.  The regular card is shown to the right above.  They came 1 per case, so they are fairly rare, though it’s not overly expensive to find one; I purchased the Kelly variation shown above a few years ago.

Best Autograph or Relic card:  Museum Collection Relics #NB – Napoleon Bonaparte

2011 Goodwin Museum Napoleon

The Museum Collection cards gave collectors the chance to have some unique historical items, including a few pieces from the White House.  This one was a chair owned by Napoleon.

Best Reds insert card of any type:  Autographs #JB – Johnny Bench

Autographs #TP – Tony Perez

goodwin 2011 Bench Perez autos

I can’t pick between these 2 members of the Big Red Machine!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

