Completed insert set – 2011/12 Goodwin Champions World Travelers

28 02 2016

This is one of those few sets that carries over multiple years.  I’ve been trying to finish this set for longer than anything else on my wantlists.  And I was waiting on the last 2 cards for over a year.  Finishing this set also finished both “master sets” for me from 2011 & 2012 Goodwin.

So I’ve been holding off on those master set posts as well.  They’re coming up next.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Info about the set:

Set description:  The World Traveler postcards came as box toppers in 2011 and 2012 Goodwin Champions.  They are done in postcard fashion (5 x 7) featuring places to travel from all over the world.  The 2011 cards feature specific sites throughout the world, while the 2012 cards showcase notable cities.

Set composition:  50 cards, 1 per hobby box (2011 & 2012 Goodwin Champions)

Hall of Famers:  None as it’s not a sports set.

How I put the set together:

  • 5 cards from hobby boxes
  • 3 cards from a trade
  • 31 cards from eBay
  • 8 cards from Beckett Marketplace
  • 2 cards from COMC
  • 1 card from Sportlots

Card that completed my set: #ET21 – Na Pali Coast

2011 Goodwin World Traveler Na Pali Coast

I got this from Beckett Marketplace last December.

Thoughts on the set:  I love this box topper set, and I wish Upper Deck had continued it past 2012.  The pictures are beautiful, the

so-so on this set.  I like the concept – but the black and white photos aren’t that great, and there are some things I’d have rather seen them do.  They had a #/10 Presidential Masterpieces set that are hand painted.  I kind of wish they had done a more common insert of that set with a non-painted version.

Best card (my opinion): #ET24 – Machu Picchu

2011 Goodwin World Traveler Machu Picchu

I could have picked the card for the Na Pali Coast above – I’ve been to Kaua’i and seen it from a helicopter; the picture does it justice.  To scan something different, I’ve always been intrigued by Machu Picchu – and this is a really cool photo of the Peruvian city in the sky.

Any other tidbits:  I would love to scan every one of these cards, but that would take forever.  Instead, I’ll list the places I’ve been out of the 49 locations (card #1 is the planet Earth).  I’ve been to 11.

ET2 – Muir Woods Redwoods:  I went to the California Redwoods when I was a kid.  My Uncle’s family lives in Portland, and we traveled down there on a family visit out there.

ET3 – Niagara Falls:  I went there in 2009, on the way to Cooperstown for the induction weekend that year.

ET21 – Na Pali Coast:  We went to Kaua’i for our honeymoon in 2008.

WT4 – Los Angeles, USA:  I’ve been there twice for work, though I didn’t stay too long either time, and I couldn’t do much while there.  Chavez Ravine is one of the few ballparks I haven’t been to.

WT7 – New York, USA:  I’ve been there more times than I could possibly count (I lived in New Jersey for 2+ years).

WT8 – Zürich, Switzerland:  In 2001 I went on a trip to Europe through school.  We took classes during the week in all different cities.  One of them was Zürich, though the midterm was in Zürich and it was the one city where we really didn’t do too much.

WT11 – Barcelona, Spain:  On the same trip, we ended the classroom portion in Barcelona.  The final was there, but I did enjoy the nightlife after we were done.

WT14 – Washington DC, USA:  I’ve also been to our nation’s capital about a half-dozen times.  Most recently I was there in 2013 for a wedding.

WT21 – Chicago, USA:  I live in Chicago.

WT22 – London, England:  That was the first stop on our trip back in 2001; I actually met my wife there.  I’d also been there once before with my parents.

WT24 – Amsterdam, Netherlands:  We stopped there during the weekend in between London and Paris in 2001.  I’m surprised Paris wasn’t on the list.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

