Completed insert set – 2012 Allen & Ginter mini Culinary Curiosities

18 02 2016

This is actually the first mini insert set I’ve completed from 2012 Allen & Ginter.  I was pretty surprised about that fact, but I only bought 1 box of Ginter and didn’t even get one of these in that box.  Still, I think this is my favorite mini insert set from 2012 Ginter.

Info about the set:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Set description:  “10 cards highlighting some of the oddest dishes and most bizarre delicacies from around the world.”  The mini cards have a pretty standard A&G design.  The miniature cards are horizontally oriented with a white border and the set name in a nameplate at the top.  The picture of the delicacy shown on top of a red and white checkered table mat.  The back has a writeup describing the dish.

Set composition:  10 cards, ~1:30 odds (2012 Allen & Ginter’s)

I’m projecting with the odds.  Insert minis combine for 1:5 odds, and there are 6 mini insert sets.

Hall of Famers: Not a sports set.

How I put the set together:

  • 1 card from a case break
  • 4 cards from Beckett Marketplace
  • 3 cards from COMC
  • 2 cards from Sportlots

Unfortunately I didn’t pull one of these in the hobby box I bought of 2012 Ginter.

Card that completed my set:  #CC1 – Nutria

2012 Ginter Culinary Curiosities CC1 Nutria

This was one of 3 cards I got last May in an order from Check Out My Cards.  I think I had just gotten sick of not finishing this set off and figured 75 cents per card was worth it.  Nutria is a dish that’s also known as Coypu, is a type of river rat cooked to taste.  Chef Paul Prudhomme, who passed away in October last year, was best known for cooking this.  He used to serve it in his Cajun restaurant, K-Paul’s Louisiana Kitchen in New Orleans.  This was probably the least strange dish of the 10 cards, not that I’m in a hurry to try river rat!

Thoughts on the set:  This is a cool set.  I like when Ginter has unique subject for these minis.  It tends to make for a fun read.  This set was more fun than the average – I’d daresay it’s my favorite mini of the 2012 product.  Also, I kind of like the checkered place mat background.  It’s kind of like the place mats you’d find at an old school pizza parlor, which is a nice touch.

Best card (my opinion): #CC7 – Fugu

2012 Ginter Culinary Curiosities CC7 Fugu

The Fugu is a type of puffer fish that’s been cooked as a delicacy in Japan.  The fish itself is poisonous and is lethal unless cooked in a very specific manner.  Certification to cook and serve it takes 2-3 years in Japan.  I had read about this before, and would have guessed this fish would be included in a set like this.  There’s a fascinating back story about the history of this fish – it’s been illegal to serve at various times throughout Japan’s history, and the Emperor of the country is not allowed to eat this for safety reasons.

****************

2012 Ginter Culinary Curiosities

Any other tidbits:  2 of these dishes are poisonous if not prepared correctly, 2 of them require eaten something that is still alive, another requires cooking an egg while a fetus is still alive, and one dish involves collecting beans that have passed through the digestive system of a tropical animal.

  • CC1 – Nutria (South America)
    • River Rat cooked in a variety of fashions.
  • CC2 – Haggis (United Kingdom)
    • A recipe of sheep heart, lungs and liver hashed with oatmeal, onion, spices and liquid stock.
  • CC3 – Kopi Luwak (Indonesia)
    • Coffee beans obtained in an … unusual … fashion.  Coffee berries are fed to the asian palm civit.  Once the civit digests the pulp, the defecated beans are harvested.
  • CC4 – Casu Marzu (Italy)
    • A Sardinian cheese made from cheese milk that goes past typical fermentation into a state of decomposition.  It contains live “insect larvae” (i.e. – maggots) at the time of consumption.
  • CC5 – Rocky Mountain Oysters (Western U.S.)
    • Deep-fried bull testicles.  These are served in Coors Field, which makes this dish somewhat more relevant to a baseball product than the others!
  • CC6 – Hakarl (Iceland)
    • A national dish made from the Greenland shark, whose skin is poisonous unless processed.  To do this, the shark is buried for 6-12 weeks, exhumed, cut into strips, and hung to dry for 3-4 months.  When ready, the dish is known for an incredibly strong smell of ammonia. This dish was featured on the TV show that I watch, Elementary – Watson is grossed out when she comes home and smells the dish that Holmes is eating.
  • CC7 – Fugu (Japan)
    • Puffer fish that’s poisonous unless served in a specific fashion.
  • CC8 – Sannakji (Korea)
    • Raw baby octopus cut into pieces while they are still alive and served immediately thereafter.  The pieces are still squirming at the time of consumption.  The suction cups on the arm pieces can present a choking hazard.
  • CC9 – Balut (Philippines)
    • Duck egg matured 17-21 days to the point that the fetus is live.  The egg is boiled then spiced to taste.
  • CC10 – Muktuk (Alaska)
    • Whale skin and blubber served raw, pickled, or fried.

I haven’t eaten anything on this list, though I imagine at some point I’ll try haggis, rocky mountain oysters and (maybe) Muktuk.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 02 2016
Adam Kaningher (@adamk0310)

A lot of these sound pretty interesting. Though the choking-hazard octopus would probably be out for me. So is fugu, which I promised my sister I would never eat.

19 02 2016
chuckneo

Yeh the fugu is a definite no no

19 02 2016
Marc S. White

I’ve actually had Rocky Mountain Oysters at Coors Field. They’re not bad with the hot sauce that’s served with them. With that said, I’m not craving them or, generally, in any hurry to consume them again.

20 02 2016
matthewturnage

I generally like to eat some region-specific food when I visit a ballpark (Skyline Chili in Cincinnati, bratwurst in Milwaukee,cheesesteak in Philly, etc.) but I couldn’t bring myself to go for the Rocky Mountain Oysters when I went to Coors Field.

Leave a Reply

