2016 Topps series 1 HTA Jumbo box – the hits

12 02 2016

I buy a jumbo HTA box instead of a hobby box when a new series of Topps comes out.  It seems like a better deal, because you get 3 “hits” instead of 1.  Sometimes I’ll end up with a really great box.  Sometimes, I don’t get much.  This time is one of the latter.

One of the 3 hits is always going to be a manufactured relic.  This is an idea that seemed cool when I first got back into collecting.  For the most part, I think it’s an idea that jumped the shark, so to speak.  This is actually a pretty cool pin, though not as good as some of the World Series pins from a few years ago.  And if I was gonna get a no-hitter pin, I guess the Johan Santana is pretty good.  The first no-no in Mets history.

2016 Topps No Hitter Pin Johan Santana

The jersey card I got was interesting, just because CC Sabathia was in the news a bunch at the end of the year.  They’re calling the autograph and relic inserts this year “scouting report”.  Pretty nice design if you ask me.  I think this is the 2nd Sabathia jersey card I’ve ever pulled.

2016 Topps Scouting Report Jersey Sabathia

Up last is the autograph.  Nothing too special here – Kole Calhoun.  Certainly not going to make my money back on the box by selling this card!  A Scouting Report theme again.  I don’t like the autograph design as much as the relic.

2016 Topps Scouting Report Auto Kole Calhoun

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

