My Best Binder Page #9 – 1993 SP Platinum Power Tim Salmon

21 01 2016

1993 SP Platinum Power Tim Salmon

Yesterday I did the second best binder page in my collection.  Today is the start of the countdown for the best binder page.  If you’ll remember, Junior Junkie came up with a great idea – out of all the cards in your collection, what are your top 9?  What’s your best binder page?

This is the first card, or card #9.  To me this card barely beat out the Darren Dreifort Golden Spikes promo card.  It beat out that very rare card, as well as a number of other super mojo-type autographs.  Why does this card rank so high for me?  Well, in 1993 I was just getting back into baseball cards.  I had collected as an 8 or 9-year-old, but came back and I started going to card shows with my mom and brother.  I remember thinking Upper Deck was making the coolest cards you could imagine.  I had stopped collecting in 1989 before I even knew what Upper Deck was.  And then SP came out more toward the end of the year and I was hooked.  Between Upper Deck SP, Topps Finest and Fleer Flair, I thought these super premium cards were amazing.

To me, this is still the best looking insert set ever!

I would pick up a pack of so of Upper Deck SP and a big reason was because of this card.  In the first pack, I got this card.  Tim Salmon and Mike Piazza were taking baseball by storm as the new hot rookies, and I was partial to Salmon as opposed to Piazza.  So getting this card at 1:9 odds seemed amazing.  I can still remember the thrill of pulling it – I’m pretty sure it was at the monthly Holiday Inn show in Sharonville (Cincinnati).  I love collecting cards, but I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to quite recapture the excitement of a pull.  It’s mostly not possible because I’m not 13 any more.  But if I could bottle that up and take it out every now and then, that would be awesome.  On some level, I still can – by taking out my rarely opened Upper Deck binder and looking at this card.

It’s kind of amazing, I never finished this set.  I think part of it is that I want to keep the vibe of how unattainable it was to me.  Finishing it today by buying the last 5 or 6 cards I need on COMC would seem to cheapen that.  Still, I’ll have to finish it at some point.

Actions

Information

One response

21 01 2016
Tom Tessier

Yep, Tim Salmon always makes for a nice card.

Leave a Reply

