The Elusive Eight

4 01 2016

Toward the end of last year, I posted my new blog feature.  I went through the 8 cards I purchased on Black Friday that had been the toughest to find.  Today, I’m following up with the cards I still need.  This is going to be centered around the cards in my collection that seem to be taking me the longest to find.  I’ve seen a number of bloggers do something similar. It helps put focus on the tough stuff.  A few ground rules:

  • Eight sounds like a good number.  The “Difficult Dozen” seems like too much.  “Formidable Five” could work, but seems a bit too small.  So mine is called the “Elusive Eight”.
  • To make this list, the cards have to have been on my wantlist for at least 1 year.  Even if it’s a rare card, if I haven’t been looking long, and that’s not the point of this list.
  • Finally, there needs to be 3 or less (preferably 2 or 1) cards left in the set the card pertains to.  I have some really rare sets on my wantlists like Heritage Bazooka, or various Box Topper sets.  I could put all those cards from lists on here, because they are hard to find.  But, again, if I’m not getting close to finishing the relevant set, who cares!

I could make exceptions on the last one, but we’ll see as we go.  I made no such exceptions in the initial list below, though.  Since I don’t have these cards – I don’t have scans of them.  Where I could, I used old scans of other cards from those sets.

These cards will be on the side of the blog, just below the picture of Rickey Henderson.

2012 Allen & Ginter Giants of the Deep #14 – Bottlenose Whale

No pictures for this, but I am down to 1 card left in this set.  To be honest, this was the weakest one of the 8.  I would rather put the 2 cards from 2012 Topps Archives Combos, but I can’t do that without bumping one of the 7 cards below.  And this is a set I would really like to finish up.

2012 Topps Archives In Action #82IA-JE – Jacoby Ellsbury

Trade Night Owl June 2012 Archives

Speaking of retail only inserts from 2012 Topps Archives (see the middle card), I have been down to just this card for well over a year!  I just can’t seem to find it.  I’ve found 9 of the 10 cards, including Griffey, Ripken and Clemente who are far more expensive.  But I’ve been unable to find Ellsbury from this set.

1998 Topps Focal Points #11 – Chuck Knoblauch

1998 Topps Focal Point Frank Thomas

I’m down to 1 card left for this insert set from 1998.  It’s Chuck Knoblauch – again, not the most expensive guy from the set.  But I just can’t seem to find him.  This is part of my Lifetime Topps project, which gives it a little more weight.  Hopefully I can find this at some point this year!

2013 Gypsy Queen #218 – Adam Wainwright

2013 Gypsy Queen Gwynn

This is an SP, but I’ve been thisclose to finishing off the Gypsy Queen set for a while now.  I’ve found this card, but not for a reasonable price.  Obviously finishing off a full set carries more weight than most standard insert sets.

1996 Topps Masters of the Game #15 – Kirby Puckett

96 Masters of Game

This is actually much harder to find than the Focal Point card above.  I just checked, and this card has never been listed on COMC.

2011 Topps Heritage Jackie Robinson Story Variations #143B – Jackie Robinson

11H Jackie inserts

I could really make a big case for this card being #1 on my list!  I have been after this card for almost 5 years!  When Topps made 2011 Heritage, they reprinted the Babe Ruth Story subset to be cards #135-144.  But they made special Jackie Robinson variations that came at really high odds.  In my opinion, they should have flipped that and put the Robinson cards in the regular set, and then doing the Ruth cards in a chrome version or something.  But that’s not the point.  These were rare cards, and I’ve been buying them since I first purchased 2011 Heritage cards.  I had 4 of the 10 cards in 2011 when the set came out.  I got 3 more early in 2012.  Since then, they’ve just been hard to find.  And this one has been really elusive.  I almost never see it on eBay!  There has been one on Beckett’s marketplace, but the seller is asking 50 bucks for it.  That’s too much.  I’d pay $20, which is more than I should, but since I just can’t find card #143, I would do it.  I hope to find it this year!

There isn’t one “most” elusive card, because the winners are 2 cards from the same set.  The most elusive 2 cards for me are….

1995 Topps Pre-Production Spectralite #PP5 – Travis Fryman

1995 Topps Pre-Production Spectralite #PP9 – Alex Fernandez

1995 Topps Pre-Production Spectralite Sandy Alomar

Like the card shown above, which was on the “obtained 8” from the last post, these cards have to be at the top of the list.  These cards are really tough to find.  To repeat what they are, in 1995 Topps made a pre-production set of 9 cards.  Those 9 cards came in packs of 10, with an extra “spectralite” version that previewed what the 1995 Topps Cyberstats parallels.  It’s nearly impossible to find these parallel versions, and I’ve gone to significant lengths to do so.  I’ve bought 3 promo packs blind (no ability to see the extra card) in eBay auctions.  I’m now down to just 2 cards, but a part of me thinks I will be searching for these for a long time.

Here are some other cards that would be knocking on the door to make the list:

2012 Topps Archives Combos – Cabrera/Kaline, Yaz/Ellsbury

1996 Power Boosters – 3 cards to go

1995 Topps Traded – 5 cards to go

2003 Nolan Ryan Record Breaker – 5 very difficult cards to go

2001 Topps MVP redemption set – a very expensive set, I have about 10 of the 25 cards

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 01 2016
Andrew

Hey, you inquired about the Manny Machado relic I pulled. It is available for trade. Email me at quinniethetrumpetman (at) yahoo (dot) com.

23 03 2016
Updating the Elusive Eight for a 3rd time – Sportlots | Lifetime Topps project

[…] 3 months since I started it, and this is a third card from my “Elusive Eight”.  That’s pretty good.  I think doing it has either a) brought a couple of these cards to some reader’s attention, or b) made me focus a bit more on going out and finding these specific cards myself. […]

Leave a Reply

