State of the Collection 2016 – Other stuff

3 01 2016

Yesterday I went over my progress made on the Lifetime Topps Project in 2015.  I wanted to do one more quick post to go over the “other stuff” from my card collections.

Jalen Rose

My Jalen Rose collection is actually more important to me than the Lifetime Topps thing.  I’ve basically collected cards of Jalen since he was drafted in the early-mid 90’s.  In 2014, I made a change to how much I would collect as far as Jalen Rose cards go.  I decided that I wanted to get some of the even rarer cards of his, so I moved that down to going after any cards numbered at /25 or above.  And if it’s lower than that, I may go after it if it’s not a parallel.  If I have the blue card #’d to 50, I don’t have a need for the gold version #’d to 15.  But if the gold #’d to 15 is the only one (which does happen occasionally), then I want to get that if possible.

Jalen again had a few new cards in 2015 issued by Panini.  Under the “parameters” I outlined above, there were 14 more cards I added to my wantlist.  There are now 1,213 cards I have on that wantlist, which is quite a large number.  I think if I went through it with a fine-tooth comb, I’d discover some cards are on Beckett’s checklists, but were never really printed and thus don’t actually exist.  So the number is probably slightly lower, but not much.

I did get all of those 14 new cards from 2014-15 Panini Basketball products.  I also got a few more older Jalen cards during the year, so my percentage owned of the wantlist is up to 89.6% (it was 87.4% last year).

2015 Topps Update All-Star Stitches

I started this collection when Topps Update came out.  There are 60 cards in the set, and I’ve got 5 of them.  That’s a good start for being a month into it.

Of course, I also bought this guy to augment it, and it’s now one of my favorite cards!

2015 Topps Update All-Star Stitch Auto Frazier

Other

I finished up a few retro sets this year.  I finished up the 2013 Topps Archives set as well as the 2012 Goodwin Champions set.  Both of those had a decent number of SP’s, so I’m glad to have gotten through them.  I finished a bunch of insert sets as well related to retro sets.  This has become less of a focus for me over the past year-plus, as I want to work more on the Topps project.  But it’s good to get a few things off the checklist.  Here’s the list of insert sets:

  • 2011 Allen & Ginter Animals in Peril
  • 2012 Allen & Ginter Baseball Highlight Sketches
  • 2013 Topps Heritage Memorable Moments
  • 2013 Topps Archives ’83 All-Stars
  • 2013 Gypsy Queen Collisions at the Plate
  • 2011 Allen & Ginter Hometown Heroes

The biggest insert I finished up, though, was the 2011 Lineage ’75 mini parallel set.  This one was a long time coming, and I was pretty excited about finishing it up!

2011 Lineage Dawson 75 mini ASR completed set

I have 820 retro cards on my wantlist.  That’s higher than I’d like, and I kind of shut down collecting all but a few retro sets in 2014.

Posting

I continued some of my other posts this year.

Tuesday Tunes, about songs with a baseball connection, was something I began in 2014.  I did 6 of those this year, up to 7 total.

I started Friday Flicks this year, doing 4 of those posts.  3 of them were from the Major League Franchise (the other was “The Babe”), so I’ve got some more to do.

I started one called Sunday Stories where I cover baseball books I’ve read.  This year, I read:

  • Babe Ruth and the Year he hit 104 Homers – looked in-depth about Ruth’s historic home run prowess
  • The Day all the Stars Came Out – about the first all-star game in 1933
  • Pedro – an autobiography about Pedro Martinez
  • Starting and Closing – an autobiography about John Smoltz

I also started a theme called Monday Mascots, where I covered Babe Ruth’s kid mascot from the 1930’s, the Rally Monkey, Charlie O the Mule, Mr. Red, and Phillie Phanatic.

I hope to continue all of these into 2016!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

