2015 Card of the Year!!!

30 12 2015

2015 Topps Update All-Star Stitch Frazier

That card at the top, from 2015 Topps Update, is not my choice for card of the year.  Close, though.

As I mentioned in my last post, my card of the year and runner-up were centric to this blog.  I thought about other cards, which I talked about in the last post.  But the 2 cards I thought were the coolest in 2015 had a connection to my blog.  Yesterday’s runner-up was George Brett’s Stadium Club card.

Today’s winner for card of the year is a card I just got.  It’s related to the set I started collecting from 2015 Topps Update called “All-Star Stitches”.  I went to the All-Star Game and the Home Run Derby in Cincinnati this year.  The Derby in particular was the coolest sporting event I’ve ever been to.  MLB changed the rules, and they really got it right in making the Derby as exciting as possible.  From there, Todd Frazier put on a show that I’ll always remember, so his card from the relic set is my winner this year.  It’s (allegedly) got a piece of his jersey from that day, of course!

I don’t own the card above, but the next I find will be 6th card of the set.  What I do own is an even better version, which is the card of the year for me and this blog!

2015 Topps Update All-Star Stitch Auto Frazier

It’s the autographed version, numbered out of 25.  I bought it on eBay as a hospital present for myself earlier in December.  It was about 50 bucks, which doesn’t seem too bad to me.  Frazier has since been traded as the Reds are in full-on rebuilding mode.  That doesn’t change how I feel about last year’s All-Star game festivities, or this card.

This is the 5th year I’ve done a card of the year.  Here were the others:

2014: Stadium Club – David Ortiz

2014 Stadium Club Ortiz

2013: Topps Heritage Real One Autograph – Stan Musial

2013 Heritage Real One Musial

2012: Gypsy Queen Autograph – Ken Griffey, Jr.

Griffey Jr Gypsy

2011: Topps – Jay Bruce

11T Bruce

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

