Saturdays Suds: Baseball & Beer #60 Strike Double IPA

15 12 2015

This is another of my favorite posts – “Saturday Suds” – where I’ll post a beer that has something to do with baseball (or at least I’ll try to figure out some way to correlate it with the game).  For this one, I’m doing it on a non-Saturday because I’ve been sitting on it too long and want to break up the 2004 season posts a bit.

Also, it’s the last beer in my fridge, and I’m now cleared to have a beer a few weeks after my appendectomy!

Strike Double IPA

Brewery:  Strike Brewing Company; San Jose, CA

Beer:  Strike Double IPA

Description:  From their website: “Intensely hopped with Magnum, Columbus, Centennial and Cascade hops, this higher gravity beer is a true West Coast Double IPA.  A distinctly bitter finish with citrus notes that shine through.”

It’s a dubbel or Double IPA – which means it has twice the hops.  And it’s a pretty high alcohol content at over 8%.  It’s a very hoppy IPA – that’s the best way I can describe it and that’s what happens when you have a double IPA.  It packs a punch, but it’s a good beer.

Medium:  I bought a 4-pack of 16-ounce cans.  I stumbled across this beer at Binny’s, the local alcohol chain in Chicago.

How it’s related to baseball:  It’s got a baseball design on the front of the beer can.  And the brewery is called “Strike” – which is clearly a baseball reference.  In fact, it looks like most of the brewery’s other beers have baseball-related names.  So hopefully I can post about a few more of their beers in the future!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

