Sometimes life gets in the way – 2015 All-Star Stitches: Troy Tulowitzki

2 12 2015

I tend to do my posts a little bit in advance.  It’s easier to get ahead a bit and plan things out.  Because sometimes unexpected circumstances arise.  That happened to me earlier this week.  I thought my Monday morning after the Thanksgiving holiday would be pretty standard – you’d been out for 4-5 days, so there’s a ton to catch up on.  But everyone else is in the same boat, so you need a meeting or six to figure it out.

That’s not how my Monday morning went.  I woke up at 4 AM feeling discomfort that I thought was just the after effects of a turkey-lace weekend.  As soon as I stood, however, I could tell it was something worse.  I spent a little bit of time trying to be sure I wasn’t overreacting, than woke my wife up and said I needed to go to the hospital.  I’m the opposite of what you’d call a hypochondriac.  I avoid the doctor, dentist or anything medical at all costs.  Which is funny, because my sister is a doctor.  But it was good that I went in this case.

I actually drove myself to the hospital.  Got there around 6:15, and 2 hours later my guess was confirmed by the – I had appendicitis.  My wife called in from work and came to the hospital at that point, which I became very thankful for.  Because 2 hours after that, I still wasn’t in surgery and I took a really bad turn.  I was so glad she was there.

At about 11:30 I went into took 3 hours to get to surgery, and the next thing I remember is waking up with a lot of tubes around me.  The surgery went well, but I’d appendix had ruptured.  The difference between rupturing and not is much more significant than I realized.  The surgery is the same, but the risk is much worse.  And The recovery time is much longer.  So that’s where I’m at today – sitting in the hospital in my 3rd night of recovery.  But I’m alive and OK, which is the most important thing!

And here’s the post I teed up a few days ago.  The set name includes the words “stitches”, which is appropriate because I’ve got some stitches in my gut these days!

This is the 2nd card I got in my crazy idea to collect all of the cards in the All-Star Stitches set from 2015 Topps Update.  As a refresher, I went to the All-Star game and Home Run Derby in Cincinnati.  These cards that have swatches from the Monday practice festivities.

The first card was Clayton Kershaw.  The next card is Troy Tulowitzki.

2015 Topps Update All-Star Stitch Tulo

Card number:  STIT-TT

How I got the card:  trade with Mark of My Best Friend Collects Chipper Jones

Player:  Troy Tulowitzki

Position:  Shortstop

How he made the roster:  Like Kershaw, Tulo was a final vote candidate who was beaten out by Carlos Martinez but then got in anyways.  When Dee Gordon separated his thumb just before the game, Tulo became his injury replacement.

This was his 5th All-Star selection.

First half stat line:  .313/10/49, .351 OBP, .480 SLG

All-Star game:  0-1.  Tulo pinch hit for Anthony Rizzo in the bottom of the 6th in a pretty high leverage situation in the game.  The NL was down, 3-2, but had 2 runners on with 2 out.  Left-handed Zach Britton was pitching, so Tulo was a good option for a righty match-up.  Tulo grounded into a force out to end the inning.   As Rizzo was the DH, Tulo didn’t end up playing in the field.

*********************

STIT-AB A.J. Burnett – Pittsburgh Pirates
STIT-AC Aroldis Chapman – Cincinnati Reds
STIT-AE Alcides Escobar – Kansas City Royals
STIT-AGN Adrian Gonzalez – Los Angeles Dodgers
STIT-AJ Adam Jones – Baltimore Orioles
STIT-AM Andrew McCutchen – Pittsburgh Pirates
STIT-APO A.J. Pollock – Arizona Diamondbacks
STIT-APU Albert Pujols – Los Angeles Angels
STIT-AR Anthony Rizzo – Chicago Cubs
STIT-BB Brad Boxberger – Tampa Bay Rays
STIT-BC Brandon Crawford – San Francisco Giants
STIT-BD Brian Dozier – Minnesota Twins
STIT-BG Brett Gardner – New York Yankees
STIT-BHA Bryce Harper – Washington Nationals
STIT-BHO Brock Holt – Boston Red Sox
STIT-BP Buster Posey – San Francisco Giants
STIT-CA Chris Archer – Tampa Bay Rays
STIT-CK Clayton Kershaw – Los Angeles Dodgers
STIT-CM Carlos Martinez – St. Louis Cardinals
STIT-CS Chris Sale – Chicago White Sox
STIT-DB Dellin Betances – New York Yankees
STIT-DK Dallas Keuchel – Houston Astros
STIT-DL DJ LeMahieu – Colorado Rockies
STIT-DO Darren O’Day – Baltimore Orioles
STIT-DP David Price – Detroit Tigers
STIT-FH Felix Hernandez – Seattle Mariners
STIT-GC Gerrit Cole – Pittsburgh Pirates
STIT-GP Glen Perkins – Minnesota Twins
STIT-JA Jose Altuve – Houston Astros
STIT-JDE Jacob deGrom – New York Mets
STIT-JDO Josh Donaldson – Toronto Blue Jays
STIT-JK Jason Kipnis – Cleveland Indians
STIT-JM J.D. Martinez – Detroit Tigers
STIT-JPA Joe Panik – San Francisco Giants
STIT-JPD Joc Pederson – Los Angeles Dodgers
STIT-JPE Jhonny Peralta – St. Louis Cardinals
STIT-JU Justin Upton – San Diego Padres
STIT-KB Kris Bryant – Chicago Cubs
STIT-KH Kelvin Herrera – Kansas City Royals
STIT-LC Lorenzo Cain – Kansas City Royals
STIT-MB Madison Bumgarner – San Francisco Giants
STIT-MMA Manny Machado – Baltimore Orioles
STIT-MME Mark Melancon – Pittsburgh Pirates
STIT-MTE Mark Teixeira – New York Yankees
STIT-MTR Mike Trout – Los Angeles Angels
STIT-NA Nolan Arenado – Colorado Rockies
STIT-NC Nelson Cruz – Seattle Mariners
STIT-PF Prince Fielder – Texas Rangers
STIT-PG Paul Goldschmidt – Arizona Diamondbacks
STIT-RM Russell Martin – Toronto Blue Jays
STIT-SM Shelby Miller – Atlanta Braves
STIT-SP Salvador Perez – Kansas City Royals
STIT-SV Stephen Vogt – Oakland Athletics
STIT-TF Todd Frazier – Cincinnati Reds
STIT-TT Troy Tulowitzki – Colorado Rockies
STIT-WD Wade Davis – Kansas City Royals
STIT-YG Yasmani Grandal – Los Angeles Dodgers
STIT-YM Yadier Molina – St. Louis Cardinals
STIT-ZB Zach Britton – Baltimore Orioles
STIT-ZG Zack Greinke – Los Angeles Dodgers
Actions

Information

9 responses

2 12 2015
mrcoach00

Wow. What a story!
Good luck on the road to recovery!

2 12 2015
chuckneo

Thank you!

2 12 2015
steveinphilly

Yikes! Thanks God you are doing okay and that you got through the surgery! Take time to relax–the cards aren’t going anywhere! But I did appreciate this post and the effort it took to put it up. Take care.

2 12 2015
Rocky

Harry Houdini was done in by a ruptured appendix, so you did well to notify a physician. Glad your on the mend, would you be interested in both the Melancon & Goldschmidt relics in this set?

2 12 2015
chuckneo

Thanks, Rocky, that did sound familiar about Houdini. Yes – I definitely would be interested in those! Let me know how to reach you. Thanks!

2 12 2015
thedutchcardguy

Glad to hear you are oke, have a speedy recovery !!

2 12 2015
chuckneo

thanks!

6 12 2015
boots1893

I went through the appendicitis when I was in 8th Grade. To this day it is still the worst pain I’ve ever experienced! (and I had open-heart surgery!)! I usually describe it as someone sticking a tiny knife in your side and slowly and continuously twisting it for about two days. I was waiting in the hospital for the surgery when I think mine ruptured, as well! Prayers of a quick recovery for you!

6 12 2015
chuckneo

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

