1990 Topps Mylar Test – Joe Carter

6 11 2015

As part of my “Lifetime Topps Project”, I’m collecting every flagship Topps set since 1980, the Topps Traded sets, and each insert set.  But there’s another thing I’m doing as part of my Topps project that I haven’t really talked about on the blog.  It has to do with parallel cards.  For each year, I’m filling up one binder page with parallel cards from the year.  I’m trying to get “rainbows” of the same player where possible – usually of one of my favorite cards from the set.  This is something like a type set for Topps parallels.  For example – I’m getting the Carlton Fisk card from 1990 Topps Tiffany, Topps Micro, O-Pee-Chee, and Topps Desert Shield.

For many parallels, this is easy.  I got most of the Topps Gold cards from 1993 and 1994 in packs that I opened.  Same with 1995 Topps Cyberstats.  I certainly won’t be going for any 1/1 cards when I get to that point, but some of the cards I’m going for are more challenging than 1995 Topps Cyberstats (which came 1 per pack).  One of those more challenging ones I decided to get was a test card from 1990 Topps Traded.

Topps produced 6 experimental Mylar stickers of cards from the Traded set.  These cards were early test runs of the finest / chrome technology.  Joe Carter and Dave Winfield are the two most notable names in the set.  I like the Joe Carter card, and for 1990 I’m getting parallels of his Topps card with the Indians (Tiffany, O-Pee-Chee) and his Traded card with the Padres (Tiffany and the Mylar sticker test).

About 2 years ago I saw a Winfield of these on COMC, and I remember it was listed for ~$30.  I know more now, and wish I had jumped on that one at the time.  I was glad this came up on eBay earlier this year, but it did cost me $70.  Luckily, it came at a time where it was OK for me to splurge and I would have probably been willing to pay up to $100 for it.  There are random stars on the card, and you can tell it’s an early version of the chrome technology we all are very used to today.  It’s thin and flimsy – it’s a sticker – and there are random stars and but is a cool addition to my collection!

1990 Topps Mylar Test Joe Carter

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

