Completed insert set – 2013 Gypsy Queen Glove Stories

14 10 2015

This is the 4th 2013 Gypsy Queen insert set I’ve finished to date.  I kind of appreciate how Topps has found this one insert they do each and every year for Gypsy Queen.

Info about the set:

Set description:  There was actually no write-up on the sell sheet, so I’ll have to do this all by myself :).

This set features 10 current fielders (in past years there were both current and retired guys).  The cards have a brown, leather-ish border with an oval-shaped window to showcase the “oil painting” photos showing off an incredible defensive play.  The “Glove Stories” phrase is across the bottom.  The player’s name (first initial only) and team are at the bottom, with a headline of the play depicted as well.  The back has a description of the play.

Set composition: 10 cards, 1:6 odds

Hall of Famers:  None – all current players.

How I put the set together: 

  • 8 cards from 2 hobby boxes
  • 1 card from a retail pack
  • 1 card from Beckett marketplace

Card that completed my set: #GS-JW – Jayson Werth

I got this in May of last year – so I’m a year and 5 months late posting on this one!  I got the Werth card from Beckett’s marketplace.

Thoughts on the set:  As I’ve said before, I love themed insert sets.  This is no different.  The one thing I’d say here, I feel like this set design was made for football.  The oval window almost seems like the shape of a football, the leather looking border looks like the color of a pigskin, and the stitching seems more along those lines, too.  But the set was still a fun read.

Best card (my opinion): #GS-GB – Gregor Blanco

This was for the catch that ended up saving a perfect game for Matt Cain.  I thought that was a cool thing to show off in this set.

My Favorite Reds card: There are none.

2013 Gypsy Queen Glove Stories complete

2013 Gypsy Queen Glove Stories complete_0001

Any other tidbits:  Derek Jeter’s card is the only play that wasn’t from 2012.  It highlights his catch in the 2001 ALDS against Oakland where he went over the 3rd base wall to catch a foul pop-up.

The cards from Coco Crisp, Jon Jay and Werth all highlight catches they made in the 2012 playoffs.

Jeter and Manny Machado are the only infielders in this set.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

