Completed insert set – 2011 Allen & Ginter mini Animals in Peril

9 10 2015

My last post wrapped a bow on my 2003 write-ups.  Before I get moving on to 2004, I’m going to do a few more completed set posts.  And a few other “fun posts” that I like to do.  I finished up another book, so look for that later this week.

I’m starting to wonder if I’ll ever get caught up posting the insert sets I’ve completed.  I’ve got to try, though!  Here’s another mini set from Allen & Ginter that I completed back in November of last year.

Info about the set:

Set description:  “Some of the most endangered species around the world.”  These are horizontally oriented mini cards with the animal depicted inside and some fauna on each side.  There is a write-up on the back describing why the species is endangered.

Set composition: 30 cards, 1:15 odds (2011 Allen & Ginter’s)

Hall of Famers: Not a sports set.

Card that completed my set: #AP15 – Philippine Eagle

I got this card from the Beckett marketplace last November.

How I put the set together:

  • 4 cards from 2 hobby boxes
  • 2 cards from a card show
  • 8 cards from trades
  • 13 cards from Sportlots
  • 3 cards from Beckett

Thoughts on the set:  This is the kind of set that makes Ginter interesting.  It’s an interesting read.  Though I wish it wasn’t a mini set – the photos aren’t very clear in a lot of cases.

Highest book value: They all book for the same

Best card (my opinion): #AP19 – Tasmanian Devil

2011 Ginter Animals in Peril 2011 Ginter Animals in Peril_0001

Any other tidbits:  From 2010 to 2012, Upper Deck inserted patch cards called “Animal Kingdom” into Goodwin Champions.  I cross-referenced the checklist for this set to the Goodwin patches, and the following 18 cards were in both sets:

  • AP1 – Siberian Tiger
  • AP2 – Mountain Gorilla
  • AP5 – Gharial
  • AP7 – Dhole
  • AP8 – Blue Whale
  • AP11 – Giant Panda
  • AP12 – Snow Leopard
  • AP13 – African Wild Dog
  • AP14 – Indian Rhinoceros
  • AP15 – Philippine Eagle
  • AP16 – Markhor
  • AP17 – Orangutan (both the Bornean and Sumatran Orangutan included in Goodwin)
  • AP19 – Tasmanian Devil
  • AP20 – Bengal Tiger
  • AP21 – Whooping Crane
  • AP22 – Sea Otter
  • AP29 – Hawaiian Monk Seal
  • AP30 – Kakapo

The 12 cards that weren’t in the Animal Patches set are below:

  • AP3 – Arakan Forest Turtle
  • AP4 – Darwin’s Fox
  • AP6 – Vaquita
  • AP9 – Bonobo
  • AP10 – Ethiopian Wolf
  • AP18 – Grevy’s Zebra
  • AP23 – Red Wolf
  • AP24 – Key Deer
  • AP25 – Black-Footed Ferret
  • AP26 – Amur Leopard
  • AP27 – Anderson’s Salamander
  • AP28 – Greater Bamboo Lemur
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

