2003 Topps Traded & Rookies HTA box break

25 09 2015

2003 Topps Traded HTA box

I bought my 2003 Topps Traded box and opened it last month from Baseball Card Exchange for just under 90 bucks.  I just opened it, so this is one of the first boxes where I actually bought it right before I opened it.  I’ve purchases a lot of boxes in advance and just waited until I got to that point in the blog to open it.

There are 10 packs, 35 cards per pack.  The HTA box also has a box topper.  In every HTA box, you get one Chrome Uncirculated X-fractor.

2003 Topps Traded Chrome Uncirculated pack

These cards are numbered out of 25.  If you do the math, that means there are 6,875 boxes out there.

2003 Topps Traded Chrome Uncirculated Carlos Duran

There is a little better rookie crop in this box, so it was pretty fun to open.  I got one base card of the most notable rookie.

2003 Topps Traded Robinson Cano RC

I got 10 gold cards in the box – one card per pack.

2003 Topps Traded Gold cards

I got 20 regular Chrome cards, which is the 2 per pack you’re supposed to get.  I got a Chrome version of the Cano card as well.  Here are the 3 most notable guys out of those 20 Chrome cards.

2003 Topps Traded Chrome Cano

I also got 3 Chrome Refractors, which is slightly beating the 1:4 odds a little better than what the odds say (you should get 2 per box).  No Cano here – that would have helped defray the cost of the box!

2003 Topps Traded Chrome Refractors

You are supposed to get 1 relic or autograph per box – I got a relic in this case.  This is a pretty nice relic of Andres Galarraga

2003 Topps Traded Transactions Relic Galarraga

Damaged cards weren’t a big problem, but I did have 7-8 cards that had corners that were dinged pretty badly.  A couple of those were doubles, so I’m exactly 5 cards short of the set.  I’ll take that any day after the luck I’ve had with the rest of the boxes!

Stats for the box:

  • 10 packs per box * 35 cards per pack +1 box topper = 351 cards
  • 41 doubles

275 of the 275 card set. (100% set completion – though 5 singles were damaged)

  • 10 Topps Gold
  • 20 Chrome
  • 3 Chrome Refractors
  • 1 Chrome Uncirculated X-fractor
  • 1 Transacton Relic
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

