2003 Topps series 1 hobby box break

6 09 2015

2003 Topps Series 1 hobby box

I went with a hobby box for the 2003 set of my Lifetime Topps collection.  That’s what I had been doing in the past, though I switched it up to HTA jumbo for series 2.  This box cost me 35 bucks; I bought it last December from Dave and Adam’s Card World.  Like most of these – there were some issues with damaged cards.  It was a little different with this box, however.  For the most part, the cards weren’t stuck together like in 2001 and (somewhat) 2002.  Instead, there were just a ton of dinged corners.  I’m “throwing out” a total of 65 cards that would have been singles.  Like I did last year, I’ll try to get a few of these from Just Commons.

I got 5 doubles, and was only 27 cards short of finishing the series, so I can’t complain about the box collation.  Just about the damaged cards I guess!

For the cards I did get, I’ll start with the parallel set.  There’s 2 parallel sets that you can pull from packs in 2003.  Topps Gold, numbered out of 2003, is back for the 3rd straight year in its new form.  I pulled 2 of these.  I didn’t get any of the Topps Black cards, which were numbered to 52 and were new this year.  Both are sets that Topps still creates today, along with a slew of even more parallels.

2003 Topps s1 box Gold

Next up are the 1951 inserts.  In series 1, this means Blue Backs.  This is the retro insert in 2003.

2003 Topps s1 box 51 Blue backs

The Record Breakers subset is the most common pull.  I got 6 of these.  This is a massive insert set.  It’s 101 cards between s1 and s2, so it will take me a little while to complete.  Especially since the

2003 Topps s1 box Record Breakers

Hobby “Masters” is back as an insert set for the third time.  I got 2 of these, which is what the odds say you’ll get (1 in 18 packs).

2003 Topps s1 box Hobby Masters

Last up were the filler inserts “Own the Game”, which was also a repeat “brand” for the 3rd time in Topps history.

2003 Topps s1 box Own the Game

That’s actually a lot fewer inserts than the year before – I was surprised that Topps went the other direction as far as total number of insert cards.  I didn’t get any hits in this box, however.  Hopefully I get a little more luck in series 2!  Below are the statistics for the box.  As always, the numbers below don’t factor in the damaged cards – I’m tracking this to know what it would have been if I had bought the cards in 2003, and I assume the damage wouldn’t have occurred back then.

**********

Stats for the box:

36 packs per box * 10 cards per pack = 360 cards

5 doubles

339 of the 366 card series. (93% set completion)

  • 2 Topps Gold
  • 3 1951 Topps Blue Backs
  • 3 Own the Game
  • 6 Record Breakers
  • 2 Hobby Masters
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

