Completed insert set – 1994 Topps Leyendas (aka: Spanish Legends)

29 08 2015

Earlier this year I completed another Topps insert set that’s kind of the “oddball” fashion.  I have been going after these cards as part of my Topps project, though in fairness I probably could argue against collecting these as not really being part of the Topps flagship set.

Info about the set:

Set description: This set of Spanish-born retired baseball players was inserted into factory sets of the the Topps Spanish bilingual set, which paralleled the 792-card 1994 Topps flagship set.  Entitled “Topps Legends”, it has some of the greatest hispanic players of the 1950s, 60s and 70s.  Blue lettering “Topps Leyendas” is at the top in block form with a shadowing effect.  Topps Legends is also at the bottom in the same manner.  The player’s name is at the bottom as well.  The photos have a distinct 1960’s feel to them.  The backs, on the other hand, have the feel of 1994 Topps.  They are bilingual with the player’s complete MLB record, biographical info and a write-up.

Set composition: 10 cards, 1 set per 1994 Topps Spanish factory set

Hall of Famers:  4.  Luis Aparicio, Rod Carew, Orlando Cepeda, Juan Marichal.  I hope some day Minnie Minoso gets in as well.

How I put the set together:

  • 3 cards from Sportlots
  • 5 cards from COMC
  • 2 cards from eBay

Card that completed my set: #L3 – Luis Aparicio

I got this and the Chico Carrasquel cards on eBay in May.  I had been looking for them on COMC and other places for a really long time, but I changed my search parameters on eBay and found somebody selling team sets.  I had to get a few duplicates, but that’s fine by me!  If anyone is interested in the Minoso or Tiant cards, I’ve got an extra!

Thoughts on the set:  The design is humble, which makes it all the better.  It’s a great subject matter, and features an interesting selection of 10 players. Since it was issued back in 1994, it’s one of the earlier sets where Topps dove into cards of retired players.  In fact, it’s one of the few products where you could find retired players as an “insert” in a product with current players.  About the only thing this set is missing is Roberto Clemente.  The 1994 Topps Spanish set hearkens back to the days of Topps Venezuelan sets from the 1960’s.

Best card (my opinion): #L10 – Luis Tiant

I love sleeveless uniforms.

My Favorite Reds card:  There are none.

1994 Topps Leyendas Felipe Alou

1994 Topps Leyendas

Actions

Information

One response

31 08 2015
Completed master set – one last look at 1994 Topps | Lifetime Topps project

[…] sets:  Black Gold, Leyendas, Traded […]

Leave a Reply

