2015 Goodwin Champions box break #3

7 08 2015

2015 Goodwin Box

I bought a third box of 2015 Goodwin Champions, and since they reduced the number of non-SP base cards this year to 100, I wish I had only got the first 2 boxes.  I only needed 2 cards to finish the 100 card portion of the set.  I did get those, but the rest of the cards were dupes which is a lot.  At least I did get those 2 cards – 6-time Stanley Cup champion Mark Messier and the most accomplished female jockey in horse racing, Rose Napravnik.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 Messier Napravnik

Here are the SP cards I got.  8 of them, and unlike box #2, these were all needed cards.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 SPs

Here are the SSP cards, and again unlike the 2nd box, these were both needs.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 SSPs

Here are the minis.  I got 1 more mini overall in this box, but again just 3 of the “regular” minis.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 minis

I got 1 canvas mini of the all-time rushing leader.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 mini canvas Emmitt Smith

I got 1 cloth mini numbered out of 50.  And it’s of the greatest golfer of all-time, at his last competitive tournament.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 mini cloth Jack Nicklaus

Finally, I got one of the rarer Leather Magician back of hockey great Phil Esposito.  This card is numbered out of 15.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 mini leather Phil Esposito

Here are the Goudey inserts.  I got another female trail blazer in Danica Patrick in these cards.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 Goudey

The one autograph I got in this box was a rare one – one of the artist autographed Game of Chance cards.  This is a cool card, but I have to be honest that I’m not particularly excited that this was my auto for this box.  I’d rather have had one of the athletes.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 Game of Chance auto 8 of diamonds

I got a standard memorabilia card, this one of Silvano Aviles, who is a the reigning champion of the Professional Bull Riding tour.  Unlike the card above, I actually do think this is pretty cool.  Certainly this is different, and it’s obviously not as sexy as a Jerry Rice card.  But if that Jerry Rice card has an inset of a jersey he wore from a celebrity softball game last year or something like that, well – this isn’t that bad.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 Memorabilia Silvano Alves

Finally, I did get an Origin of Species patch card of a dinosaur called pisanosaurus.  I read dinosaur books to my 3-year old quite a bit these days, and I haven’t seen this in any of those books.  But it’s a cool card, and I’m glad I got such a wide array of insert cards across these 3 boxes.

2015 Goodwin Box 3 Origin of Species Pisanosaurus

Below are the “stats” for the box.

20 packs per box * 5 cards per pack = 100 cards

77 of the 100 card base set (77% set completion)

  • 8 SP cards
  • 2 Super SP cards

87 of the 165 card full set (53% set completion)

  • 3 Minis
  • 1 Mini Canvas
  • 1 Mini Cloth Lady Luck back
  • 1 Mini Leather Magician back
  • 5 Goudey
  • 1 Game of Chance Autograph
  • 1 Memorabilia
  • 1 Origin of Species

Including all three boxes:

  • 100 / 100 of the base cards (100%)
  • 123 / 165 of the full set (75%)
Actions

Information

One response

7 08 2015
fanofreds

Love the dino!

Leave a Reply

