Completed insert set – 1999 Topps All-Matrix

29 07 2015

I’m biding time a bit right now on this blog.  I have a trade incoming and I’m going to the National Collector’s Convention at the end of this week.  So here’s another completed insert set from 1999.  I thought I’d do this one because the only 2 Hall of Famers were just inducted last weekend.

Info about the set:

Set description:  This 30-card set is really 3 smaller sets.  The first 13 cards is the “Club 40” for batters who had smashed 40+ homers in 1998.  That’s right – 13 guys with 40 homers.  This includes Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa’s record breaking totals.  The next 10 cards are “99 Rookie Rush” for players whose rookie season was coming in the 1999 season (most notably Roy Halladay).  The last 7 cards are “Club K” and includes a who’s who of power pitchers at the turn of the century.  Each subset has a different design.  The background of the cards have reflective foil with the name of the subset included.

Set composition:  30 cards, 1:18 odds (1999 Topps series 2)

Hall of Famers:  2.  Shockingly, Pedro Martinez and Randy Johnson are the first two HOF-ers in this set.  Griffey will join them next year.  A lot of steroid guys in this set.

Card that completed my set:  #AM3 – Ken Griffey Jr.

I got this card from COMC back in December, as part of their Black Friday promotions.

How I put the set together:

  • 2 cards from my series 2 hobby box
  • 2 cards from trades
  • 1 card from the National card show
  • 25 cards from Sportlots/Beckett/COMC

Thoughts on the set:  These sets where the background is the super-shiny aren’t my favorite, but this is a really good one.  I like the first and last subsets.  Club 40 is a good idea – if you had over 40 homers, you were in the set.  If not, you weren’t.  Club K is my favorite design.  I don’t particularly like the rookie subset.  It’s always risky because you may get guys who weren’t particularly memorable.  That was true for just about every guy in this subset except Roy Halladay and Carlos Lee.

Best card (my opinion):  #AM29 – Pedro Martinez

I like the Club K design the best, and this is the best card from that subset.

My Favorite Reds card:  #AM4 – Greg Vaughn

Vaughn became the 2nd Reds player to hit 50 homers in 1998.

1999 Topps All-Matrix_0001 1999 Topps All-Matrix_0002 1999 Topps All-Matrix_0003 1999 Topps All-Matrix_0004

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

