Completed insert set – 1999 Topps Hall of Fame Collection

27 07 2015

I completed a 1999 insert at the end of last year, and thought that posting it right after the induction speeches was appropriate.  The Hall of Fame induction was yesterday, and it’s always one of my favorite things to watch.  The small part I’ve watched of this year’s has been no different.  I’m going to watch the rest tomorrow night.

I had hoped to do a “Sunday Stories” post last evening.  I’m reading Pedro’s autobiography, but I couldn’t quite finish it.  You know, life stuff.  I’m 81% of the way.  I know this, because the Amazon Kindle App tells me.  I’ve never been a big fan of Petey, but it sure is interesting and I am a fan now.  I’ll hopefully have a post up for that next Sunday.

Anyway, here’s the 1999 Topps HOF Collection set.

Info about the set:

Set description: Topps was really getting into gear with the retired player tributes at the end of the century.  They had reprint sets for Mantle, Mays, Clemente and in 1999 added Nolan Ryan.  Topps Gallery was including the first Topps Heritage cards as inserts.  Tributes were all the rage, and this set was the first insert set from Topps flagship featuring multiple retired players.  The set features 10 different Hall of Famers with their Cooperstown plaque as a background and a black and white photo in the foreground.

Set composition: 10 cards, 1:12 odds (1999 Topps series 1)

Hall of Famers:  10.  Obviously all of them.  Mike Schmidt, Brooks Robinson, Stan Musial, Willie McCovey, Eddie Mathews, Reggie Jackson, Ernie Banks, Whitey Ford, Bob Feller, Yogi Berra

If I go by primary position, this “team” has no center fielder (I figure Mr. October plays right, Stan the Man plays left) and is missing a second baseman and a third outfielder while having 3 different 3rd baseman.

Card that completed my set: #HOF7 – Ernie Banks

Mr. Cub was one of 3 cards I purchased from Beckett’s website last December.

How I put the set together:

  • 3 cards from my series 1 hobby box
  • 4 cards from Sportlots
  • 3 card from Beckett’s marketplace

Thoughts on the set:

It’s easy to forget now, but I’m sure having a retired player set with this kind of clout back in 1999 was a big deal for the Topps flagship brand.  I really like this set and the design is great with the HOF plaque in the background.  This set was only inserted in series 1.  Having 10 more Hall of Famers (think Mays, Aaron, Morgan, Bench) would have made it even better.

Best card (my opinion): #HOF10 – Yogi Berra

All the cards are great, but Berra has his catching gear on in a pose I haven’t seen anywhere else.

My Favorite Reds card:  There are none.

1999 Topps HOF Collection

1999 Topps HOF Collection_0001

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

