Saturday Suds: Baseball & Beer #58 – Golic’s RBI Rye Ale

18 07 2015

2015 AS Game logo

I haven’t done a beer post in a while, but I just had one that was perfect for these posts!  I mentioned in my post yesterday that my dad and I went down to watch Mike & Mike early on Monday morning.  It was held at the Moerlein Lager House down on the river, and they brewed a special beer for Greeny & Golic.

Moerlein Mike & Mike taps

Brewery: Christian Moerlein Brewing Company in Cincinnati, OH

Moerlein Golic's RBI Rye pintBeer:  Moerlein Golic’s RBI Rye Ale

Description:  This is a special brew made for the Mike & Mike event.  They were at the Lager House on Monday and Tuesday, and had a contest to see whose beer was drank the most.  Mike Greenberg picked his beer to be a lighter ale, since that’s what he likes.  According to Mike Golic, they asked him what kind of beer he wanted, and he answered “beer”.  So he got the darker rye.  This beer lost to Greeny’s short hop ale, which is to be expected.  People are just more likely to drink a lighter beer.  But not me, or at least not when I’m drinking my breakfast!

This is a robust American Brown Ale brewed with malted rye for a distinct finish.  It poured brown and it tasted like a brown ale – it’s pretty heavy and “bread-y”.  I don’t know if that’s a technical term.  It also had some chocolate and spice to it.  It’s not a beer for a hot summer day, but for me it went well with eggs, sausage and potatoes from the breakfast buffet.

Medium:  I bought a pint at the Moerlein Lager House last Monday morning.

How it’s related to baseball:  It was one of two beers brewed specially for Mike and Mike for their trip to do their show for the All-Star game.  Or at least they re-named existing beers after the two co-hosts.  And they gave them a baseball name and created logos in the design of the All-Star logo.  Both Mikes have mustaches and the pill hats on the design.  It was a cool event, and despite the fact I gave up on some sleep, I’m glad we went.

2015 All-Star Game Mike and Mike break

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

