All-Star Game Fanfest #2: the Topps booth

12 07 2015

2015 AS Game logo

I went to the All-Star Fanfest again yesterday (Saturday).  This was day 2 of 5 for the Fanfest, and it may end up being my last day there.  I went by myself (i.e. – without my dad or my son), which allowed me to be a little more efficient with the autograph hunting.  I did get 4 autographs, and 3 of them were very 1990 Reds.  But this post isn’t for the autograph discussion – I will probably discuss that in a post tomorrow if I have time.  I’m going to the Futures Game and Celebrity Softball Game tomorrow, so we’ll have to see about that.

Today’s post is for the baseball card part of All-Star Fanfest.  As the official (exclusive) partner of MLB, Topps of course has a booth at the All-Star Game Fanfest.

Fanfest 2015 Topps booth

There are quite a few things you can do at that booth.

  • Make your own Topps card.
  • All-Star Factory set, with a free Reds’ manufactured patch card
  • 1990 & 1975 World Series 5×7 cards
  • Reds Mascot cards
  • All-Star Fanfest wrapper redemption
  • Patch trade-in

For one, you can get your own Topps card made toward the back.  I didn’t do anything like that – if my son had been a bit older I might have brought him there on Friday.  The other thing I didn’t do was buy a 2015 Topps factory set.  They have an All-Star version available at Fanfest, and if you buy a set for 50 bucks, you also get a manufactured patch card of a few Reds’ stars of your choice.  The rest of the stuff are things that I did do.

At the same counter where you can buy the factory sets, you can purchase the newest 5×7 reprint set Topps has put together.  Numbered to 199, both these sets honor former Reds’ World Series champions in 10 card sets.  The earliest is the 1975 champions, which are in their “40th anniversary”.  This means Night Owl has to add another card set to his list of 1975 Topps tribute cards.  As you can guess – there is unfortunately no Pete Rose card in this set.  The other set is the one I purchased – honoring the 1990 Reds (25th anniversary).  I was alive and a big fan at the time of that world series, so this was nearer and dearer.  Here’s the top card – HOF-er Barry Larkin.

2015 Topps ASG Fanfest 5x7 1990 Reds Anniversary

In addition to Larkin, the set includes Mariano Duncan, Chris Sabo, Paul O’Neill, Eric Davis, Rob Dibble, Norm Charlton, Jose Rijo, Tom Browning and Jack Armstrong.  This means they don’t have:

  • the 3rd Nasty Boy – Randy Myers, who had a card with the Mets, but also had a 1990 Topps Traded card with the Reds.  This is probably the biggest “snub” to me.
  • Manager Lou Piniella.
  • a catcher – Joe Oliver or Jeff Reed both had 1990 Topps cards in their Reds uniform.
  • a first baseman – Todd Benzinger or Hal Morris (Topps Traded only) could have been included.
  • the 3rd starting outfielder, who would have been Billy Hatcher (Topps Traded only) in this case.
  • the 4th starting pitcher – Danny Jackson.
  • Other pitchers – Scott Scudder and Rick Mahler.
  • Backup players Luis Quinones, Ron Oester, Glenn Braggs (Topps Traded only), and Herm Winningham

The rest of the promotions are at the “free” counter.  Yesterday when I went up there – I met Sooz of the blog A Cardboard Problem, who now works for Topps.  Was nice to talk for a minute with someone who was an early blogger.  The easiest thing to do is the mascot cards.  Each day, there’s a different Reds’ mascot card, and just by walking up to the counter, you can get the mascot card of the day.  In the 2 days thus far, this has been Gapper and Mr. Redlegs.

2015 Topps ASG Fanfest set - Mr. Redlegs and Gapper

The other thing is the wrapper redemption.  To get these cards, you have to buy 3 packs of a current year Topps product.  Then you take those packs to the Topps booth, open the packs there, and then you get 1 of the cards.  I got all the Reds cards.  If you’re doing the math at home – that means I bought 9 packs.  I didn’t want to do 18 packs – so I didn’t get the full set.  Jose Abreu, Mike Trout and Clayton Kershaw are the other 3 players.

2015 Topps ASG Fanfest set - Reds Frazier Phillips Votto 001

Finally, if you trade in an old Topps card of any sort, you can get a patch card they had available.  I got this Mazeroski framed rookie reprint from 2014.

2014 Topps black framed rookie patch - Mazeroski ASG fanfest

These were some good promotions, and I think it’s good Topps has this booth at the Fanfest.  Not sure if I will go back to Fanfest, but if I do, I’ll get the respective mascot card from the day!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

