2015 Topps series 2 HTA Jumbo box – hits

8 07 2015

Whenever possible, I go for the HTA jumbo box instead of a hobby box when buying new Topps product.  You get 3 “hits” per the HTA box.  For series 1 – this meant I got 3 Reds cards.  Though one is a Jay Bruce redemption I still haven’t received.

I didn’t do nearly as well with the hits in this box.  Both my autograph and relic were from the “Career High” theme.  And as you’ll see – they are a bit disappointing.  Juan Lagares is a promising young player for the Mets – but he’s regressed a bit this year.  And I just don’t know about celebrating a career high batting average of .281 for a player who has never even qualified for the batting title.  If he continues at his .250 clip this year – but does get to the magical 501 at bats – wouldn’t that be his technical career high?

2015 Topps s2 Career High auto Juan Lagares

The relic may be even more confusing.  Javy Baez is also a promising young player who got called up last year and struck out at a pretty ridiculous clip.  But his career high made me do a double take.  111 rib-eyes?  I mean, he may have had 111 K’s last year.  But apparently this is for his minor league prowess.  Sorry Topps, but this is not Pro Debut.

2015 Topps s2 Career High relic Baez

One of the 3 hits will always be a manufactured card.  A lot of collectors dislike these, but I’m good with them.  This is a pretty cool card of one of the all-time greats.  If you can’t tell – it’s my favorite out of the 3!

2015 Topps s2 Commemorative Bat Knob Mays

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 07 2015
matthewturnage

My Career High auto was celebrating Mike Foltynewicz’s 2013 Minor League ERA of 3.06, which I also thought was odd.

8 07 2015
Adam

Love that Mays bat knob!!!

Leave a Reply

