2002 Topps series 2 hobby box break

21 05 2015

2002 Topps s2 box

As with series 1, I got a hobby box for 2002 Topps series 2.  I got this box from Dave & Adam’s Card World.  My purchase to open timing is going down a bit – I bought this in November 2013, so only a little over a year on this one!

My series 2 box had more damaged cards than series 1 – unfortunately this has just been the nature of buying boxes of glossy cards from a decade ago.   I had 58 damaged cards that would have been singles toward the set in this box.  And I lived with some sticky left over on a few more than that to go toward my set.  Oh well, it is what it is.

Here’s a look at what I got in the second box.  Topps Gold parallels were back for their 2nd straight year in 2002.  I got three of them; they are numbered out of 2,002 on the back.

2002 Topps s2 box Gold

As far as the 1952 retro-themed inserts go – I flipped the numbers on the 2 insert sets.  I pulled 2 Gold reprints from the 1952 set, and just 1 of the 1952 World Series cards.  I got the reverse in series 1.

2002 Topps s2 box 52 Reprints

2002 Topps s2 box 52 WS Highlight

There’s only 1 other insert set in series 2 – this is very different from the increasing number of insert sets that Topps had been building up in the years prior to 2001.  As someone who is collecting them all – I’m not complaining!  The All-World team is a good idea, though I’m not completely sure I understand the theme.  Vlad Guerrero is Dominican, and Walker is Canadian.  Todd Helton is from… Knoxville, Tennessee?

2002 Topps s2 box All World

I didn’t get any hits in the box.

Stats for the box:

36 packs per box * 10 cards per pack = 360 cards

9 doubles

342 of the 354 card set. (97% set completion)

58 of my singles were “damaged” – so I really only got 284 towards the set

3 Topps Gold

2 1952 Reprints

2 1952 World Series Highlights

3 All-World Team

Including the first box:

614 / 718 of the base cards (86%)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

