An obligatory Gypsy Queen post?

12 05 2015

2015 Gypsy Queen blaster

I swore off buying retro products this year.  However, just like Topps Heritage, I found myself unable to avoid purchasing some Gypsy Queen.  I liked the first Gypsy Queen set (2011) the best, and then last year’s set was good as well.  I’d put this year’s version third – ahead of 2012 and 2013 – it’s a little bit different design with what I’ll call the “key” effect.

2015 Gypsy Queen Joc Pederson

For the record, that makes 2012 and 2013 the worst designs out of the 5 year GQ run.

I got my Gypsy Queen fix via Target.  I bought a blaster, which consisted of 8 6-card packs, and one of the value packs, which gives you 3 more 6-card packs as well as 3 of the white framed paper parallel cards.  I’ll start with the value pack.  The white framed paper cards are always the best looking cards in this product.  This year is no exception, though I didn’t get anybody of particular note.

2015 Gypsy Queen white framed paper

You get one mini per pack – and I did a little better as far as the minis go, with a former Cy Young winner in the mix.

2015 Gypsy Queen value minis

Here are the 2 inserts I got – Walk-Off Winners and Glove Stories, which has been a GQ insert since the first year.

2015 Gypsy Queen walk off winners Hatteberg

2015 Gypsy Queen Glove Stories Bourjos

As far as base cards, I got 3 retired players.  Now I tend to complain about Topps re-using old photos, because it is the number one thing I would want to change from their products.  But this photo of the Iron Horse is a classic and does go really well with the design.

2015 Gypsy Queen value retired players

And here were the most interesting current players.

2015 Gypsy Queen value current players

Moving on to the current players from the Blaster box.  This could be known as the advertising set.  There are a number of cards where you can clearly see ads in the back.  Mostly this is on cards that are poses from Spring Training.  The Hudson card below has clear advertisements for Play Station and Hilton Garden Inn.

2015 Gypsy Queen blaster current players

I got 6 Hall of Fame retired players.  And Mark McGwire, I had kind of forgotten Topps was putting his cards in their products.  But since I had 6 HOF-ers, he didn’t make the scan!

2015 Gypsy Queen blaster HOF players

I got a Gold Framed Paper card of Joe Mauer in this box – these are numbered out of 499.  The odds say 1:27, which would mean you’d get this every 3-4 boxes.  So a good pull.

2015 Gypsy Queen Gold Framed Paper Mauer

Here were the other inserts.  Another Glove Stories, another Walk-Off Winners

2015 Gypsy Queen Glove Stories Gordon

2015 Gypsy Queen blaster inserts

Finally, here were the mini cards.  8 of them, one of which was a red version of Lucas Duda.  That’s numbered out of 50, and should come one every 10 blasters per the odds.  So another good pull.

2015 Gypsy Queen blaster minis

All in all – this was fun to open.  I think someday I’ll collect these, but want to stay focused on the next steps in my Topps project – which means on to 2002!

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 05 2015
Tony L.

The Gypsy Queen design is really growing on me this year. Maybe it’s the better quality on the “artistic effect”, and maybe it’s the design generally is higher-end feeling, but I really like the set this year.

12 05 2015
chuckneo

I agree – the one thing, though, I just don’t love the color of the border

12 05 2015
jonesbwp

Would you be interested in trading for that Shelby Miller white frame?

I have some other Whites or GQ inserts I could trade for it.

12 05 2015
chuckneo

Sure – I’ll earmark it. I tried emailing you but it got kicked back

Leave a Reply

