Subjectively completing an arbitrary trade

18 04 2015

A little over a week ago, I finished up a trade with Brian from the blog Highly Subjective and Completely Arbitrary.  This is trade #9 of 2015 – a good pace!  I sent Brian a wide assortment of about 100 cards from his wantlists – quite a few cards from my old collecting days back in the 90’s, and a few more from today’s Topps sets.

Brian sent me a bunch of 2015 inserts, but we’ll get to those in a minute.  First up, he helped me out with 5 cards from 2001 Topps.  I’m still a ways away on that set – but it’s slowly getting whittled away.

Trade - Highly Subjective 2001 Topps

This trade helped with 2001 Topps – but it finished off the 1994 set for me!  I was missing 3 cards, and one of them was card #379, which actually was printed as #370.  See, this is one of those errors where Topps printed 2 of one card number (#370) and none of another card number (#379).  I already had Benito Santiago – but did not have Mark McLemore.

Trade - Highly Subjective 1994 Topps

At the rate I’ve been going – I’ll get to the completed 1994 Topps trade post next April…

Aside from the help with the primary part of my project, Brian sent over quite a few inserts from 2015.  This is great – love to get these crossed off the list via trade whenever possible.

Trade - Highly Subjective 2015 Topps inserts

I really like the 2015 inserts.  In my opinion – it’s Topps’ best effort since I came back in 2010.  Every set has a specific theme, which is important to determining if I like the sets or not.  The Springer below is my first card from the “Robbed” insert set.

Trade - Highly Subjective 2015 Topps inserts 2

Trade - Highly Subjective 2015 Topps inserts 3

Last but not least – Brian sent over a few Reds cards just because.  I love the Cueto relic – this is my second relic of his.  I’d say I’ve got a collection going, but in a year the jersey swatch in his cards probably won’t be for the Redlegs.

Trade - Highly Subjective Other Reds cards

Thanks for the trade, Brian!

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 08 2015
Completed set – 1994 Topps | Lifetime Topps project

[…] Card that completed my set: #379 – Mark McLemore (one of 3 cards received from a trade with Highly Subjective and Completely Arbitrary) […]

22 01 2016
Completed master set – one last look at 1994 Topps | Lifetime Topps project

[…] Card that completed my set: #379 – Mark McLemore (one of 3 cards received from a trade with Highly Subjective and Completely Arbitrary) […]

13 08 2016
Topps Flagship sets for the 1990’s – FINITO (how I completed the decade) | Lifetime Topps project

[…] 1994 – #379 – Mark McLemore (trade with Highly Subjective and Completely Arbitrary) […]

Leave a Reply

