Completed insert set – 2012 Topps A Cut Above

23 12 2014

After wrapping up my 2014 Topps purchases a few posts ago – I didn’t really want to start right back up into my Lifetime Topps project since I’m so close to the end of the year.  So I’m continuing with a few more completed set posts, and then a few “end of year” posts that I’ve always done.  Mid-January, I will start 2001 of the Topps project.

A Cut Above is an insert set in 2012 Topps series 2.  Unlike almost every other set – this one doesn’t follow the gold theme Topps used throughout the 2012 product.

Info about the set:

Set description: “Striking Die-Cut Cards”.  OK, so Topps’ sell sheet doesn’t really say much.  These are colorful, borderless cards with die-cut effects that I can best describe as “caddy corner sevens” in the top right and lower left of the card.  The background is given a kind of blurry effect that keeps the focus squarely on the player. The back has a write-up as to why that player is a “cut above” with a catchy slogan at the top.  The set has 11 retired players and 14 current players.

Set composition: 25 cards, 1:6 hobby odds (series 2)

Hall of Famers: 10 – Cal Ripken, Nolan Ryan, Stan Musial, Mike Schmidt, Willie Mays, Sandy Koufax, Johnny Bench, Hank Aaron, Jackie Robinson, Mickey Mantle

How I put the set together:

5 cards from my HTA Jumbo box

1 card from an HTA Jumbo pack

15 cards from trades

4 cards from online dealers

Thoughts on the set:  It’s nicely done and one of my favorite inserts from 2012 Topps.  Going away from all the gold is a very good thing in my opinion.  25 cards is reasonably collectible, though it’s a bit high.  I would have preferred Topps stuck with only active players for a number of reasons – one of which is that most of the retired players have very familiar photos.

Card that completed my set: #ACA-24 – Mickey Mantle

I got this card in a Beckett Marketplace purchase back in May.

Highest book value: #ACA-9 – Cal Ripken

Best card (my opinion): #ACA-19 – Robinson Cano

I’m not really big into Yankees, but this picture fits well with the die-cut design, and the stadium background is very cool.  I also really like the Schmidt and Mantle cards.

My Favorite Reds card: #ACA-20 – Johnny Bench

This is the only Reds card.  Unfortunately its a photo of Bench that has been used a few times in the past.

2012 Topps A Cut Above set

2012 Topps A Cut Above set_0001

2012 Topps A Cut Above set_0002

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

