Completed insert set – 1995 Topps Finest Inserts

29 09 2014

After their only standard inserts in 1993 and 1994 were the Black Gold cards, Topps had two inserts in 1995.  One of them was based on the Finest technology.  It’s technically just called Topps Finest on the packs, but this set is often called Total Bases to distinguish it from the actual 1995 Topps Finest product.

Info about the set:

Set description:  This set uses finest based technology on the front of the card, with a player photo on a silver background. His name and team are at the bottom in a color that matches the player’s team. The set features top 15 players in total bases from the 1994 season in order of how they finished.  The horizontal backs show another player photo with statistics breaking down total bases by hit.

Set composition:  15 cards.  1:36 (1995 Topps series 2)

Hall of Famers: 3

Frank Thomas, Tony Gwynn, Kirby Puckett

How I put the set together:

  • 1 card from my wax box
  • 14 cards from COMC/Sportlots

Thoughts on the set:  I generally like most Topps Finest designs, and I also love when an insert is a specific theme and Topps sticks to it.  And I really like this design not particularly crazy about this design, however – it looks more like Topps Chrome than Finest to me.  Also – I hate the peel or don’t peel thing that Topps did back then.  As you can see from my scans – some of them have been peeled – some haven’t!  But, overall – it’s a very nice set with some 1990’s goodness.  One of the few Finest sets with no refractor versions.

What do you think – should I peel all of them?

Card that completed my set:  #13 – Kirby Puckett

I got this from COMC back in November in their black Friday sale.

Highest book value:  #7 – Barry Bonds

Best card (my opinion):  #3 – Ken Griffey Jr.

A tremendous card of my favorite player.

My Favorite Reds card:  There are none.

1995 Topps Finest insert set

1995 Topps Finest insert set_0001

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

