Completed insert set – 1995 Topps Traded At the Break Power Booster

25 09 2014

Continuing with a bunch of the completed insert sets that I’ve neglected – I’ve moved on from the more recent Topps sets to sets that are actually in my Lifetime Topps project.  This one I completed almost a year ago.  This is actually a Topps Traded insert – though you could technically say this is a partial parallel set.

Info about the set:

Set description:  The first 10 cards of the ’95 Traded made up a subset called “At the Break”.  The cards have the wording “At the Break” split by a baseball on the left side with a wood design with the player name and team logo at the bottom.   Topps created refractor versions of the same cards and inserted them 1 per box.  They are printed on much thicker stock with diffraction (“power boost” background.  The card backs have a head shot and mid-season statistics for the player.

Set composition:  10 cards

Inserted:  1995 Topps Traded packs.  1:36 odds.

Hall of Famers: 3

Frank Thomas, Cal Ripken, Tony Gwynn,

How I put the set together:

  • 1 from my ’95 Traded Wax box
  • 9 from online card dealers

Thoughts on the set:  It’s a cool set.  I like the thicker card stock, and the refractor like technology is pretty nice, too.  I kind of wish it wasn’t just the first 10 cards of the set – but I also like the idea of having “mid-year” stats on the back of cards in a Traded set.  Topps could do something like that these days and I would like it.  I also like that the first three cards are Thomas, Griffey and Bonds – the three best hitters of the 1990’s!

Card that completed my set:  #2 – Ken Griffey Jr.

I got this card from COMC back in November as part of their Black Friday promotion.

Highest book value:  #5 – Cal Ripken

Best card (my opinion):  #2 – Ken Griffey Jr.

Griffey or Mo Vaughn have the best photos in this set.

My Favorite Reds card:  There are none.  Though Barry Larkin would have been appropriate since this was his MVP season.

1995 Topps Traded ATB Power Boosters

1995 Topps Traded ATB Power Boosters_0001

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

