Completed set – 2011 Allen & Ginter

10 09 2014

I’ve been catching up on a bunch of completed insert sets lately, but I also have a regular set to show off.  It’s been 3 years, and Ginter is a set I’ve only collected in 2011 and 2012 – but I finally finished up 2011 Ginter. This is a pretty big one to complete.  The SP’s aren’t too crazy for Ginter, but this isn’t a set I’ve actively gone after, so I’m glad to get close to it.

Info about my set:

How I put the set (non-SP / then SP) together:

  • 126 (114/12) cards from my first hobby box
  • 98 (86/12) cards from my second hobby box
  • 94 (89/5) cards from trades
  • 5 cards from a card show
  • 25 (6/19) cards from Sportlots
  • 2 SP cards from Check Out My Cards

Card that completed my set: #321 – Mark Reynolds (I got this from Sportlots back in February)

2011 Allen Ginter Reynolds

General Set Info:

Set composition: 350 cards (299 current players, 1 retired player, 15 historic figures, 35 World’s Champions)

Earliest active player from this set: #7 – Mickey Mantle (retired players), #204 – Jim Thome (active players)

2011 Allen Ginter oldest player Mantle Thome

There’s two answers to this – Thome is the earliest active player out of players who were playing when the set came out.  Thome made his debut of September 4, 1991.  But Mantle is the earliest (and only) retired player – debuting April 17, 1951.  I didn’t realize back in 2011 that Mantle was the only retired player in this set.  Today’s Ginter sets are different – guys like Aaron and Mays are found all over the set.

Player with the most cards in the set: every player has just 1

First Card and the Hundreds: #1 – Carlos Gonzalez, #100 – Albert Pujols, #200 – Josh Hamilton, #300 – Ryan Braun

2011 Allen Ginter first and hundreds

Highest book value: #262 – Manny Pacquiao

Most notable card: #262 – Manny Pacquiao

2011 Allen Ginter Pacquiao

Including Pacquiao was a big deal, and he’s the most valuable card.  I think he’s also the most notable, because this was the boxing legend’s first card of any kind.  His autograph in this product still sells for a killing. I will say that there is an argument that the next card is actually the most notable.

Best card (my opinion): #147 – George W. Bush

2011 Allen Ginter George W Bush

This is a great card.  It’s Bush throwing out the first pitch in game 3 of the 2001 World Series – the first Series game in New York after the 9/11 terrorist attacks.  You don’t have to be a Republican or like “43” to appreciate that.  He autographed some cards as well.

Second best card (also my opinion): #298 – Peter Gammons

2011 Allen Ginter Gammons

I don’t think you can beat HOF announcer Peter Gammons.  If not for the really cool card of the former prez – I’d say this was my favorite card!

Best subset card: N/A

Favorite action photo: #220 – Prince Fielder

2011 Allen Ginter best action Prince Fielder

This card looks like Fielder is in a college football game.  A&G isn’t really made for action shots – though they work a bit better for this design than others.

Favorite non-action photo: #265 – Buster Posey

2011 Allen Ginter best non action Posey

I don’t love the design for this Ginter set, but this is a “pose” card that seems to fit well with the Ginter look.

My Favorite Reds card: #80 – Joey Votto

2011 Allen Ginter Joey Votto

There aren’t any Reds cards that stick out, so I’m going with the guy who was the reigning MVP.

Other Notable Cards: I think I’ve covered quite a few, but here’s a few more notable cards from the non-baseball portion of this set.

2011 Allen Ginter other notables

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

