Completed insert set – 2012 Topps Heritage Stick-Ons

27 08 2014

Topps Stick-Ons is my 5th insert set completed from 2012 Topps Heritage. I’ve knocked off both Flashbacks sets, Then & Now, and now New Age Performers.  The only thing I have left to complete the “Master set” is the JFK insert set.  I’m 1 card away from that!

Info about the set:

Set description:  “46 stickers just like those produced back in 1963.″  This is a tribute to the 1963 Topps insert set.  The stickers measure 1-1/4″ x 2-3/4″ and include a floating head picture of the player inside a colored oval with the player name, team and position.  The backs come with instructions on how to peel them off.  Here’s my write-up on the old and the new sets back in 2012.

Set composition:  46 cards, 1:8 odds (2012 Topps Heritage).

Hall of Famers:  None – they’re all active players.

How I put the set together:

  • 6 cards from my 2 hobby boxes
  • 20 cards from trades
  • 3 cards from a card show
  • 17 from online purchases

Thoughts on the set:  This isn’t the coolest oddball set from Topps past, but I love that Topps stayed true to the reboot of it.  Even with the number of cards being 46 like the original.  I also wish there was an easier way to store it!  Right now I just have them in regular pages and they’re really way too small for those.

Card that completed my set: #8 – Pablo Sandoval

I got the last card in July as part of a recent Beckett purchase.

Highest book value: #20 – Albert Pujols

Pujols is the highest valued player, at least according to a pretty dated Beckett I have.

Best card (my opinion): #5 – Jose Reyes

It’s hard to pick a best card since there just isn’t a lot too these.  I remember getting the Jose Reyes pretty early on, and it was cool to see him in a Marlins uniform for the first time.

Best Reds card (also my opinion): there aren’t any – pretty bad out of 46 cards

Other bits of information: There doesn’t seem to be much rhyme or reason to the color combinations.  Players from the same team have different color backgrounds.

Also, Madison Bumgarner is shown with his 4th of July hat, a promotion MLB does every year.  I looked it up – he didn’t pitch the July 4th game in 2011.

2012 Heritage Stick Ums

2012 Heritage Stick Ums_0001

2012 Heritage Stick Ums_0002

Actions

Information

One response

29 08 2014
Adam Kaningher

Great blog! I’ve added Lifetime Topps to my blogroll.

Leave a Reply

