Completed insert set – 2012 Gypsy Kings

23 08 2014

I’m now moving on from my Archives posts to cover completed sets.  This will take up quite a bit of blog time – I’ve completed a lot of sets and neglected final posts for them!  I am just about wrapped up the “master set” for 2012 Gypsy Queen.  In fact, I’ve completed the base set and the inserts, I just want to get the 3 baseball card minis passed out at the 2012 National Convention.

The final insert set I completed from 2012 Gypsy Queen is the “non-baseball” insert set.  It’s a play off the Gypsy Queen idea – called “Gypsy Kings”.  Just like in 2011, Topps put together a group of fake people into the insert set.  Some think it’s kind of stupid, but I guess it’s at least something different.  I guess I was OK with it, but was also glad they stopped doing it in 2013.

Info about the set:

Set description:  There isn’t a description on the sell sheet for this set, but basically the set features a bunch of made up players for a Gypsy King baseball team.  There is some far-fetched writing on the back, usually describing some crazy thing that the particular Gypsy King player did.  The cards feature a brown background and what I would say is a pretty nice design.

I think the Gypsy Kings are all Topps employees who have posed in old school baseball uniforms for the set.  There were also autograph and relic versions of the cards – moving from fake cards to fake autos/relics.

Set composition: 12 cards, 1:48 (2012 Gypsy Queen)

Hall of Famers:  None – these aren’t real people!

How I put the set together:

  • 1 card from a hobby box
  • 2 cards from trades
  • 1 cards from a card show
  • 8 cards from Sportlots/COMC

Thoughts on the set:  I collected it because it wasn’t that difficult, but it’s definitely odd.  I like what they did this year with Gypsy Kings better than last year – at least it’s a fake baseball team, not a fake band of gypsies.  It’s mildly interesting to read the backs.

Card that completed my set: #GK8 – Aladar the Cruel

I got this card from a Sportlots purchase a few months ago.

Highest book value:  All the same

Best card (my opinion): #GK12 – Savo the Savage

I like the Chuck Norris ism in the write-up on the back of this card.  “A runner once tried to steal home by knocking Savo to the ground.  That man died.”

2012 Gypsy Kings

2012 Gypsy Kings_0001

Actions

Information

4 responses

23 08 2014
nighttimeowl

This might have been the dumbest idea of the 21st century, and if science advances enough so I am alive in 2100, I am sure I will say the same thing then.

26 08 2014
chuckneo

I think the one the year before was worse – gypsy queens

31 12 2014
loqtus

Ah, so these are fake people. Then why the heck are they five bucks apiece on COMC or SportLots? A buck a shot at best…c’mon!

31 12 2014
chuckneo

Yeah, they’re fake. That insert set took me the longest. I was able to find the cards for under 2 bucks in most cases – but it required patience!

Leave a Reply

