Completed insert set – 2011 Topps Lineage Cloth Stickers

14 08 2014

Some 3 years later, I’m getting very close to completely wrapping up the 2011 Topps Lineage “Master set”.  This is the last standard insert set, and on some level I guess I could say I’ve completed a master set.  The other things I’m chasing are the boxtopper set of 1964 Giants (which I should be done with soon) and the 75 mini parallel (which I’m 90% there – about 20 cards to go).

This one is one of my least favorite sets from Lineage.  It’s the Cloth Stickers insert set, which is loosely based on a test Topps set from 1972.

Info about the set:

Set description:  “Modeled after the 1972 test set, these brightly hued fabric cards display 50 subjects on the Lineage base card design, and unlike the original are actual stickers.”

Like the other insert sets in Lineage, this is a tribute to a past oddball set.  Or in this case a test set that was never distributed.  Though Topps had a full-blown cloth sticker set in 1977 that was widely distributed and probably more in line with what this set really is.  Here’s my previous post comparing the Lineage set with the older sets.  Regardless, Topps used the same design as Lineage, just with a cloth front that could peel off as a sticker. It’s actually more like a partial parallel.  At 50 cards, it’s one-quarter of the base set – so I’d probably argue that’s what it is anyways!  The set has a mix of retired and current players, just like the base set does.

Set composition:  50 cards, 1:12 (2011 Topps Lineage)

Hall of Famers: 24. Sandy Koufax, Mickey Mantle, Cal Ripken Jr., Whitey Ford, George Sisler, Stan Musial, Jackie Robinson, Lou Gehrig, Mike Schmidt, Nolan Ryan, Duke Snider, Reggie Jackson, Al Kaline, Eddie Murray, Tris Speaker, Honus Wagner, Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Cy Young, Hank Aaron, Johnny Bench, Tom Seaver, Bob Gibson, Ryne Sandberg

How I put the set together:

  • 4 cards from my two hobby boxes
  • 3 cards from 2 different group breaks
  • 7 cards from trades
  • 1 card from the 2013 National Convention
  • 35 cards from online (Beckett, COMC, Sportlots)

Thoughts on the set:  As I mentioned, it’s loosely based on the oddball Topps set from 1972.  But Topps just used the base Lineage design.  It would have been cooler to do a different insert set with the 1972 or 1977 design (or even do a different year with no provenance in Topps-cloth-sticker-history – maybe 1978).  Since, it’s one-quarter the size of the regular Lineage set, and the picture, write-up and design elements are all the same as the base set, it’s really a partial parallel.  It’s not a bad set, but 50 cards is way too much.

Card that completed my set:  TCS-48, Ryne Sandberg

2011 Lineage Cloth Ryne Sandberg

I’ve been 1 card short of finishing this for over a year.  Sandberg was unusually tough to track down; it was always too expensive compared to other cards in this set.  I eventually broke down and paid too much from a Beckett dealer because I’ve been so close to wrapping up Lineage.  I paid 2 bucks for this card plus shipping.  And it wasn’t even a dealer where I bought a bunch of other stuff.  Still – I’m glad to cross this off the list!

Highest book value:  TCS-6 Cal Ripken Jr.

2011 Lineage Cloth Cal Ripken

Apparently at some point in recent years, Ripken became the most valuable guy you could find in a set.  At least according to Beckett.  For as long as I could remember, this had always been Mickey Mantle.  But that’s not the case; Ripken books at higher than anyone else.

Best card (my opinion):  TCS-1 Sandy Koufax

2011 Lineage Cloth Sandy Koufax

Monte Irvin was my favorite card from the base set, but his card didn’t make it to the cloth set.  I like the Koufax card the best out of the cards that did make it.  Hank Aaron’s card is pretty cool too.  Both of their photos seem to go well with the Lineage design, which is hard to do.

My Favorite Reds card:  TCS-47 Tom Seaver

2011 Lineage Cloth Tom Seaver

Joey Votto and Johnny Bench are both in the set, but I like the Seaver card the best.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

