The last post from the National – 2013 Goodwin Champions box break #1

25 03 2014

2013 Goodwin Champions boxThe National was back in August.  At the time, I did a bunch of posts on all the things I got from the National Convention.  I got some cards for my Topps project, I got some cards from other set needs, I got some of the giveaways from Topps and other companies, and I bought a few boxes (Panini Golden Age, Topps Series 2).  2013 Goodwin Champions, which was new, was the last one I purchased.  I’ve waited to post about it because I wanted to get a couple more boxes.  I only bought one box at the National, but then it was hard to find boxes on the internet for a decent price.  At Christmas tie, I ordered 2 more boxes of Goodwin from Dave and Adam’s Card World.

I’ve always liked this product, though I’m a bit alone on that – not everyone does.  The design is always pretty cool.  I wish they had more cards per pack, and I could go for a sports related insert set.  And I wish Upper Deck could get the player most associated with the company – Ken Griffey Jr. – back into the fold.

Like the last two years, every other box had a mini.  I got 7 regular minis, 2 Green minis with “Lady Luck” on the back, and 1 canvas mini.  The canvas minis have replaced the silver foil from last year, and are printed on different paper.  The white on the front and the back looks nice.  You can also find a red foil version #’d to 13 and 1/1 gold presidential minis.

2013 Goodwin Champions box 1 minis

Here’s the insert set – it’s called Wonders of the Universe.  The first 40 cards come 1 per 5 packs, while the “SP” cards (#41-60) are 1 per box.  The Orion Nebula is the SP that I pulled.  There’s another insert set called “End of Days” that is much harder to come by.

2013 Goodwin Champions box 1 Wonders of the Universe

I didn’t pull anything too crazy to write home about.  I got 3 “hits”, which is what you’re supposed to get.  The first one was an autograph of jockey Mario Gutierrez.

2013 Goodwin Champions box 1 Mario Guitierrez auto

I got one relic of Hockey Hall of Famer Larry Robinson.  Robinson played from 1971-1992, and I’m honestly a little skeptical about this jersey (I guess you can’t really trust any of these based on events from this year) – it looks like a much newer material than what he would have played in.

2013 Goodwin Champions box 1 Larry Williams relic

And I also got an Animal Kingdom Patch of the Groundhog.  These are continued from the last 3 years, and are even continuously numbered (so these are 201-300).  Pretty neat – these are cards that I can really see some niche collectors going after.

2013 Goodwin Champions box 1 Groundhog Animal Patch

I got no doubles from the base cards, so that’s a good thing. Below are the “stats” for the box.

20 packs per box * 5 cards per pack – 4 cards for relics = 96 cards

70 of the 150 card base set (47% set completion)

6 SP cards

2 Super SP cards

1 Base Minis

79 of the 223 card full set (35% set completion)

6 Minis Base Parallels

2 Minis Green – “Lady Luck” back

1 Canvas

4 Wonders of the Universe

1 Wonders of the Universe SP

1 Auto (Gutierrez)

1 Materials (Larry Williams)

1 Animal Kingdom (Groundhog)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

