Completed insert set – 2013 Gypsy Queen Dealing Aces

22 03 2014

This is the 2nd 2013 Gypsy Queen insert set I’ve finished to date.

Info about the set:

Set description: “The top pitchers in baseball will be pictured in all 4 suits: Heart, Club, Spade, Diamond.” Topps did 5 of each suit – so 20 of the best pitchers in today’s game.  The front is white with an internal colored border of red or black depending on which suit the player is paired up with.

Set composition: 20 cards, 1:4 odds

Hall of Famers:  None – these are all current pitchers.

How I put the set together: 

12 cards from 2 hobby boxes

3 cards from trades

Thoughts on the set:  I love themed insert sets, and I think going with the playing card theme is a pretty cool idea.  I don’t think too much of the 2013 Gypsy Queen base set, and they seem to have made the inserts more interesting and colorful.  I’ll also give them kudos for doing 5 of each suit – that’s something I could have seen Topps not being symmetric with.

Card that completed my set: #DA-FH – Felix Hernandez

I got King Felix from Beckett.com.  His suit designation is a Diamond in this set.

Highest book value: #DA-CK – Clayton Kershaw

Best card (my opinion): #DA-CK – Clayton Kershaw

I don’t even know if the highest book value is correct – I don’t have a recent enough Beckett to check.  But I’ve got to think Kershaw is the most valuable of any current pitcher these days.  In a set like this, I’ll tend to go with Kershaw as the best card too – since he’s the best pitcher around.

My Favorite Reds card: #DA-JC – Johnny Cueto

He’s the only Red, but he’s a deserving addition to this set.

2013 Gypsy Queen Dealing Aces

2013 Gypsy Queen Dealing Aces_0001

2013 Gypsy Queen Dealing Aces_0002

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

