Completed insert set – 2011 60 Years of Topps: The Lost Cards

5 01 2014

Another insert set I completed last year was from 2011 Topps.  It’s long name is “60 Years of Topps: The Lost Cards”, though the Lost Cards is just fine with me.  These were only inserted in series 1.

Info about the set:

Set description: “These 10 cards fill in famous card numbering gaps found throughout Topps Annals.  The card back recounts the anecdote surrounding each card’s history”.  They are also available in the original back parallel versions.  Now, I’d never want to go complete the bigger 60 years or yo momma card original back sets – but this one may be worth pursuing someday.  It’s reasonable at 10 cards, and you’re getting a card back that didn’t really exist.

Set composition: 10 cards, 1:36 odds (2011 Topps series 1)

Hall of Famers: 6. Every player in this set is a Hall of Famer, but Stan Musial has 4 cards and Mickey Mantle has 2.  The other 4 guys are Whitey Ford, Bob Feller, Roy Campanella and Duke Snider (see below for the applicable years showcased).

How I put the set together:

  • 4 cards from a hobby box
  • 2 cards from an HTA jumbo
  • 4 cards from Sportlots

Thoughts on the set:  This is one of my favorite concepts, but I wish they’d have gone even further with it (much further, actually).  Topps went specifically with cards where there were skipped numbers in some of their earlies sets.  This is cool, but there were more skipped numbers than what they did show.  And, when I hear the term “Lost Cards”, I immediately think of some other cards.  Not just skipped numbers from ’53, ’54 and ’55.  I think of Maury Wills in 1962, A-Rod in the mid-90’s, Reggie Jackson’s Orioles card that became a Yankees card.  I wish they’d have gone deeper on this set and cut out something like Legendary Lineage.

Card that completed my set: #LC7 – Bob Feller

One of 2 cards (the other being Ford) that I got in a Sportlots purchase containing cards from this set.  I actually finished it quite a while ago – sometime in the middle of 2012.

Highest book value: #LC3, #LC8 – Mickey Mantle

If there’s a Mick in the set, he’s usually the top for “book value”.

Best card (my opinion): #LC10 – Stan Musial

They did well as far as the photo selection (Stan the Man in his classic stance) working with the design.

My Favorite Reds card:  There are none.

  • LC1 – Stan Musial (1953)
  • LC2 – Duke Snider (1953)
  • LC3 – Mickey Mantle (1954)
  • LC4 – Roy Campanella (1954)
  • LC5 – Stan Musial (1955)
  • LC6 – Whitey Ford (1955)
  • LC7 – Bob Feller (1955)
  • LC8 – Mickey Mantle (1955)
  • LC9 – Stan Musial (1956)
  • LC10 – Stan Musial (1957)
Actions

Information

2 responses

6 01 2014
Steve in Philly

I’m with you on getting the original back version of just this part of the 60 Years of Topps collection. I hope someday to have the first 118 cards in the collection (and probably have over 2/3 of them already), but as you state, these backs never existed. It doesn’t cost all that much, even for the original backs. I picked them all up on Beckett Marketplace last year.

The Cards Your Mom Threw Out set came in three 58-card waves, and I found they display nicely by putting the first card of each wave (the 1952 cards) across the top row of a 9-pocket sheet. the 1953 cards across the second row, etc. Unfortunately, this 60 Years of Topps set of which the Lost Cards are the last bit only had 2 waves before this, and I didn’t want to leave the last column blank, so I have put them in sheets in number order from the start, wrapped up with the 10 Lost Cards and 10 Lost Cards original backs, for a 138 card set.

6 01 2014
chuckneo

Thanks, Steve – these definitely are cool sets, and I agree – it would have made sense to do a 3rd wave in 2011 update for the 60 years of Topps.

Leave a Reply

